INTELLECTUAL =/= PROPERTYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ethics5 years ago

I don't believe ideas (Qualia) can be owned like property (Quanta).

Ideas have none of the essential characteristics of property and it is a category error to claim that ideas are property.

Even the term, "intellectual-property" is like a mind-trap (fnord) that infects your whole world-view.

For example,

I realized the other day that I can barely write or think about anything that is not a corporate property and "protected" under copyright law.

If I recorded my thoughts and dreams onto a disc, I would be sued out of existence if I tried to sell them.

Every time I talk about my childhood memories, I'm basically shilling for some mammoth corporation that crushes thousands of people just like me every single day.

Here's another example,

And,

Copyrights and patents were originally intended to protect the ORIGINAL AUTHOR/INVENTOR for between 20 and 69 years. This only makes sense if the rights are NON-TRANSFERABLE and ACTUALLY EXPIRE.

Every movie and television and radio show and book and record that is OLDER THAN 69 years SHOULD BE PUBLIC DOMAIN.

Even the birthday song, yes, that birthday song, the one that you sing to your friends and family members every year on their birthdays has been HEAVILY LITIGATED for many years now earning its purported "owners" untold millions.

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

Essential sites for (new) steemit users:
check anybody's steemit activity log
check anybody's steemit activity patterns
offical steemit etiquette guide
identify the most influential steemit users
advice for minnows and plankton
are you tired of $0.00 rewards? (balance denominated in SBD)
are you tired of $0.00 rewards? also check
Also, set your rewards to 100% steem power and you'll get a cool steem logo next to all your posts!!

Copyright notice: Feel free to copy and paste any LOGICZOMBIE original content (posts and or comments and or replies and logiczombie logo, excluding quoted 3rd party content of course) according to copyleft principles. copyleft wiki

Use the tag #LOGICZOMBIE if you'd like to participate in a civil debate or have your post critiqued for logical coherence.

I am reserving my substantial upvote to support quality posts made to the #LOGICZOMBIE tag.

+proHUMAN +proFAMILY

Your scathing critique is requested.

Sort:  

Intellectual property law undermines itself in that its real purpose is to monopolize the capacity to rent intellectual content.

They want to get paid every time you loan that movie or song to your friend, every time you play it at a party and every time you hear it in the backgroud of a home movie you upload to youtube.

I'm not kidding, I recorded a video of some friends dancing at a party and when I uploaded it to youtube it gave me a warning that any profits I earned from monetization would automatically be funneled to the copyright holder of the song playing in the background. I don't even monetize my videos!

Reality is now copyrighted. You don't even own your own memories.

And it makes me sick when people try to say that nobody will write books or songs in a world without copyrights.

Are you kidding me?

People have been writing songs and stories and inventing things for thousands of years without any sort of "intellectual-property-rights".

Source

Reality is now copyrighted. You don't even own your own memories.

only online.

Your memories cannot be owned by anyone. They are original. It's only when you put them in an open place as an object what makes the difference. When you visit the beach or the forest and stay there. ... Be there. You receive this moment as a feeling, smelling, touching, seeing experience. But when you "fix" it onto a digital screen as a taken picture or video you try to make it a solid thing which you don't want to lose or let go off. Actually, as a superficial filmer or photographer you might miss the given moment ...

(I have some photographs printed out and collected in books. I watch them more often than any pictures I made since the digital era) The less digitized memories I store from a certain period of my life, the more I may feel a pain that there is a "blankness of memory" - but I deceive myself. Memory is just not so important.
:)

oh, thank you very much. Sensitive message.

I agree that public domain should set in after a certain amount of years.

Since people are very forgetful, everything repeats itself at some point and can be reissued. 67 years may be a bit long, but it probably makes sense at some point ...of which I haven't thought so far.

Personally, I find it interesting that you write underneath your articles that you allow distribution. The one where your ego would find it really hard or almost impossible to publish without copyright may have born an original pearl that has the very touch of strangeness and familiarity that makes it a pearl.

Fortunately, there's still such a thing as "mouth propaganda" and a book that you've memorized and recited to people in a marketplace probably won't accuse you of copyright infringement even if you collect bills in a hat. It'd be too impressive :D

... What makes me think that oral distribution is a dying art that can probably be revived very nicely when you're on the road as a travelling people. If only the hotels weren't so expensive. Poems learn by heart: Who still does that? ... Hmmm ... maybe I should start with it. I bet, storytelling qualities were highly appreciated in oral societies (before book printing/books were invented). I personally like storytellers a lot and grew up in a household where skills were shared. I wish I would have learned more anecdotes and stuff by heart. It's so much joy to sit around and listen to someone who can do that for quite some time.

There are still a few active community theaters around here and there.

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation, and Liberty. We are a peaceful and non-violent movement that sees information as being held back by corrupt forces in the private sector and government. Our Mission.
  • Discord, website, youtube channel links here.

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

Congratulations @logiczombie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71