You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you a reasonable person?

in #ethics4 years ago

I can see times I have been both. I can also say that I often do have reasons for things/actions/positions that I often have little drive to explain to most people. There needs be a compulsion for me to share with another, a sign/feeling to make that effort. I'm a firm believer in the saying

“Give not that which is holy unto the dogs, neither cast ye your pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn again and rend you.”

Matthew 7:6

It works well with the saying no good deed goes unpunished.

Sometimes despite feeling compelled to speak, there is also a breakdown in my communication ability to match up with the others to translate into something they can bind. That last one can often help me grow however as usually if I'm compelled to explain/act with another, there is a growth lesson for me in the experience.

I see you mentioned freezepeach. While I appreciate your kindness of delegation, I wonder if it would better serve your needs if you were to reclaim it to delegate to them. I have been following your discussions on downvotes with interest.

Sort:  

I can re-delegate if you wish, but I'd like to try and get as many people as possible to delegate at least 1 steem to freezepeach to at least show token support. Steemcleaners has a rep of 80 and zillions of steem and is consistently in the top 5 most profitable accounts on the running 30 day charts. It seems that protecting free-speech is not quite as profitable as downvoting newbz.

I don't do delegations, as I only use my keys here on Steemit. However, when (if) my post pays out in two days, I will send them 1 Steem from the payout to honor your idea.

I can also say that I often do have reasons for things/actions/positions that I often have little drive to explain to most people. There needs be a compulsion for me to share with another, a sign/feeling to make that effort.

I understand the feeling, it's an aspect of the "free-rider" problem, or perhaps the "prisoner's dilemma".

If one person is reasonable and the other person isn't reasonable, then the reasonable person loses.

I'm just trying to give you some ammo to help point out (in those situations) that the unreasonable person is (EITHER) unreasonable (acting without any reason), (OR) functionally-indistinguishable from an unreasonable person (refusing to reveal their reasons, de facto unreasonable).

If one person is reasonable and the other person isn't reasonable, then the reasonable person loses.

This is usually true, yes. If one is not dependent on the unreasonable person for the outcome, or it is worth the conflict as the desired goal is necessary, it often nullifies the unreasonable persons insertion. Often, one can use the others lack of control to nullify them to others who matter, or better, educate those on the fence when they see for themselves an unreasonable opposition. Bypassing such people is the best option if possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67674.48
ETH 3755.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72