Evening on the Farm - July 14, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

in #evening5 years ago

Ballons1 crop July 2019.jpg
Over the barn

For some reason, the Green River Festival in Greenfield, Mass moved its Balloon Festival to Northampton, Mass. That meant we would see the balloons following the Connecticut River in their flights.

Ballons2 crop July 2019.jpg
They were heading north, so one has gone behind the trees

Moonrise2 crop July 2019.jpg
Moonrise to the southeast

Evening crop July 2019.jpg

Evening in July on the farm. The broilers have “gone to bed”, all safe behind the netting in their coop. It’s started to cool down and I’ve opened all the windows in the house trying to cool the house down overnight.

A long, hot day of tag sales, errands, and chores is finally done.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

How lovely. So nice when you can see a bit of the festivities without having to leave the house! I've always wanted to ride in a hot air balloon.

I have too! They have landed here on the farm a few times. But they are terribly expensive, so I doubt I ever will.

Sounds satisfying. I used to love living near Bath in the UK with all the balloons going past - the chsssh sound they make when they get close on a summer's night. I vaguely remember there was something about having to buy teh farmer a whiskey if they landed in his field.

I can't help thinking of the Ian McEwan book 'Everlasting Love' or something like that? That starts off with these people watching a guy fall out of one - eek. I went up in one once as my uncle used to fly them. Scarey as. Wouldn't do it again. Way to crazy flimsy for me!

Here it's a bottle of champagne. They've landed here a few times, but we turned the bottle down, as we don't drink. I've always wanted to ride in one, but doubt I ever will, as it's a lot of $$.

When steem moons, i expect you to balloon!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64