How do we share? Social Media as WorldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #evolution6 years ago (edited)

For many people these days, social media is our strongest reflection for how we see the world.

So how are we using social media, how are we seeing the world through this lens?

Is the world our soundboard? Constantly reflecting back what we say and what we see, and amplifying it so it becomes louder and louder.

Or is the world a reflection of our self? Everything around us giving us an opportunity to look at a new perspective, and to continue to understand more of who we are.

Are we the man with a bullhorn shouting our beliefs or are we the man who takes the time to have a genuine conversation?

And does this question change depending on where we are?
Around your birth family? At your work? In your church? On social media?


I see so many different worlds present in my life. And who I am may change depending on which "world" I am in.

Most recently, I have been reflecting deeply on my social media world, and especially who I am on Facebook.

I've noticed how much Facebook has been like a soundboard for me. Being in manifestation mode and working to create a certain reality, I have subtly shared things in order to align people in a certain belief, as doing so strengthens the belief, giving it power.

It has been a place for me to satiate my desire for attention and to be heard, and I see that I am not unique in this. In fact it's pretty much built into the platform for it to work this way. We write a post, we share a video, whatever, and then we are validated when people like our status or comment something on it. This creates this feedback loop where your view is being validated by people seeing things the same way that you do, and then these are the people who continue to see these things, and it creates this whole closed loop system and our beliefs just get further and further validated.

This for me doesn't work. This constant seeking of validation and approval for others, with very little genuine listening and true connection. I do not like being the man behind a bullhorn telling everyone else what is going on, and I don't like who I am as that. So I choose a different way.

I see that honesty works. I see that actual conversation with actual listening works.
I see that this is present on Facebook and some are truly choosing to use it this way.
However, I usually see more using it as a soundboard, and I saw myself using it more often as this, and this paradigm can become overwhelming.

I am choosing to step away from Facebook for the time being, to focus on my day to day world.
I am choosing to practice honesty and listening.
I am choosing to be real.

Facebook has also been a space that has led to a scattering of energy. There are so many energies present in the vortex that is Facebook, and not all of them are aligned with what I am doing here on Earth, and so I share something, and judgments come in, silent or spoken, and it leads to my energy not being used in a constructive way. I am finding it now far more beneficial to contain my energy more and direct it towards the places where it is able to be received in a good way.

I will continue to write and share my voice online, however I will now choose to use platforms such as Steemit, Youtube, and certain groups on Facebook, where I can take time with what I am saying, to reflect deeply, to articulate clearly, and to speak openly and honestly, and where there are communities that I am sharing with that will be able to appreciate and receive what I am sharing.


What do you see when you look at social media? With others and with yourself?

How are you using social media? How is this reflecting your everyday world?
When you look at this, do you like what you see? Or do you choose a different way moving forward?

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89