You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Debunking Some Shits About Evolution

Hey Sammi, I finally made my way here! I have been looking forward to reading this post as your writings about evolution always enlighten me through either bringing new information, or making me see old ones from a different lens. Although, with this post, it turns out both things happened! 😅

I was mostly interested in the first section of this article for two reasons. First, the question raised there is definitely an intriguing one (I do/did think of evolution as a forward process). Second, I wasn't aware of the de-volution process. It is interesting to learn about a single organism undergoing a 'back and forth' attempt of adaptation. Like the trilobites.

Sammi, has any species that is still around nowadays undergone devolution? Is it correct to assume that de-volution is something that affects their evolutionary strength and paves the way to their demise?

Thank you for these through-provoking posts my dear.
Much love to you :*

Sort:  

I'm really honoured by your presence Abbey.

Sammi, has any species that is still around nowadays undergone devolution

Remotely, we; the extant modern humans, can be inferred to be undergoing de-evolution. And there are many pointers to substantiate this fact - talk about the decline in our brain mass and stuff. Though we're not returning back to the primitive hominid state, but we could be fluctuating between evolution and de-evolution.

Thanks a lot for your kind words Abbey. Have a blessed evening

Maybe we could, but to be sure, we need millions of years. The length of the process is often the part that is neglected. I remember someone discussing island evolution (was it @mobbs?) where one can witness incredible stuff (I don't know all the details and I will go to sleep, but I could dig them out in two days ;) ).

I agree with you. I believe more in the theory of gradualism (that is; the evolutionary process; whether the forward or reverse evolution; taking millions of years), as against the school of thought that proposes the theory of catastrophism.

but I could dig them out in two days ;)

Would you mind sharing it with me when you dig it out? :)

Thanks for your presence

I unfortunately have no time, but I am pretty sure it was @mobbs. Just ask him ;)

Okay. Thanks a lot sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87