You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finally Getting Back into Exercising!

in #exercise5 years ago

The thing that helps me stick to a 'pattern' or 'routine' is some plain old goal-setting. I've found that signing up for a couple fun sounding 10k (or further, if I'm feeling spicy) races throughout the year keeps me motivated. I'm also a big fan of rock climbing, so I do a fair amount of day-dreaming about specific routes that I'd like to climb in the coming season.

Without something fairly tangible to pin all the effort onto, it starts just feeling like a chore. After a while, it starts feeling a bit more like your day to day life -- similar to working towards professional or personal goals.

Sort:  

Excellent advice! I found that doing the weekly exchange transfer report here on the Steem blockchain serves a similar purpose for me. Reminds me of the importance of posting regularly and engaging with people around the world.

I've recently discovered (through my little Steem-based project I'm working on) that there are "ParkRuns" hosted pretty much all over the world. Free, all-abilities, 5k race events held each Saturday. @harryp3 (UK I believe) and @run.vince.run (New Zealand) tuned me in to the fact that these are going on -- check out https://www.parkrun.com/countries/ and see if there's any near you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85