Running without pain.... freakin' finally.

in #exhaust5 years ago (edited)

I just finished a 3.8km run that lasted about 0hh:27mm:3ss !

image

Today was so good!

Looking back through my spreadsheet, this week was the first time ever I actually completed all 3 runs and all 3 hill sprints for the week... and not only that, but today was the first run in like forever, that my Achilles weren't burning. There was definite discomfort on the last huge hill... but this is a huge step for me.



Unfortunately I'm disappointed to tell you that stretching might have been key here. I've been stretching after every run, and I've been doing that for weeks, but I've started stretching for 30 minutes before bed and a bit of a wind down... and I think that, plus some calf raises, and the natural conditioning that comes with getting out and doing it... it all means that soon I might be running to work on my actual heart and lungs. That's exciting!

Definitely struggled diet-wise being at home... I think meal prep is the answer there. The last couple of weeks have been chaos, but this weekend we've got literally nothing planned so I'm planning to just be excellent to each other instead of partying on dudes.



Anyway, whoooo! No pain!

Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

Great to see you back out amongst it, mate.

It's so good to be back amongst it. I think (I hope) I've learnt my lesson and that consistency with training and stretching is the only way for this aging body to cope. Thanks thanks!!

P.S) My computer isn't good enough to run PoE otherwise I'd be right there with you. All my mates love it so hard.

Might be a recruiting angle there ;)

Awesome to hear you're running pain free! Good on you putting in the extra stretching work. I've not even attempted running on my ankle yet :( can't wait for my pain-free-run day in the future

Oh yikes... how long has it been now?

Yeah, I kinda hate stretching, but I think tying it as a 'post-computering-pre-bed' wind down is working well for me... still I've got a trillion more things that I should be doing for my elbow... but it's hard not to think that physios are just heaping you with exercises until your body actually does just heal itself.

but it's hard not to think that physios are just heaping you with exercises until your body actually does just heal itself.

haha totally thought this many time too!

I'm at 12 weeks as of today 😅. I naively thought I'd be back running in 1 week. The Norwegian doctors words were. "Your ligament is badly torn or it could be completely gone 🤷‍♂️" It's slowing getting better and generally feeling progress each day. Still very unstable but working on rehab with plenty of balance training.

Congrats on pain free Achilles! He's a stinker when he's mad.

Thanks dude... I think there's still a long road ahead of me with this guy... but I've won this particular battle on this particular day.

Nice profile pic... you're so beardy now... I just assumed you just always look exactly like your first intro post pic.

Well...I got rid of the beard now :( I just don't have a lot of photos of myself anymore haha

The hills are alive, with the sound of... Ninja crying sighs of relief

Hahaha, and manly grunts because running is so hard.

These types of pains/injuries though, are going to have to be constantly 'managed' I think. I don't think the pain has gone forever, I just now know how much effort it'll take to keep it at bay.

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.388 which ranks you at #2239 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 413 places in the last three days (old rank 2652).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 277 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99