Steemin'

in #exhaust5 years ago

I just finished a 3.8km run that lasted about 0hh:25mm:6ss !

image

I can't tell you how happy I am about this time!

After a week of hatin' treadmillin' it, and then Monday's run being so uncomfortable and crappy... I'm so excited that I was able to turn it around in 2 days. It really helps regain a little trust into the conditioning process. If I hadn't done all that running previously, I never would have bounced back so quickly with a really nice time.

I also spent a lot of time thinking about the Steem witnesses during my run. I definitely run a lot better when I'm not thinking about how much I'd rather be doing anything but running. The top 20 witnesses make quite a lot of Steem right? Like 5 to 10 times their monthly cost? Is there any reason why the Top 20 witnesses aren't paying for Steem Blockchain development and/or quality assurance with Steemit Inc more in a management/advisory role? I know Steemit pretty much didn't let anyone play with their toy, but obviously that's all changing with the Blocktrades WPS.
Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

This is a long and complex story @aussieninja. the main reason why the argument is made that witnesses are paid so much more than their operating costs is due to the risk of potential corruption payments for manipulating the chain.
If @oracle-d was a top 20 witness, we would give 50% of our witness rewards to projects. I am not sure why other witnesses don't do this.

Ah, the anti-corruption thing does make sense. I've often wondered if the speed of the Steem blockchain also makes it less secure... given that Bitcoin and other blockchains rely on a number of nodes reaching a consensus on the transactions.

Thinking about it more, I think what I'd like to see is a witness portal that lists all the witness information including their other projects and their donations to the blockchain development/WPS. That way the witnesses donating more to the development of the whole blockchain should be rewarded with higher rankings.

In regards to the question you raised about logos and sponsorship. The competitions on TV are extremely strict about logos or anything of that nature. Last time I competed I had to bring 4 t-shirts for them to choose one, and people had to tape up or colour over with a marker any Nike, Adidas or New Balance logos, etc.

The smaller competitions don't have rules though. They're not televised but they all broadcast live on social media. I've got my own Aussie Ninja top, but I'd be open to include a 'powered by steem.ninja' type thing if that's any interest to you.

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.445 which ranks you at #2132 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #316.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @aussieninja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10500 replies. Your next target is to reach 11000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87