Running through the outdoor steam room.

in #exhaust5 years ago (edited)

I just finished a 2.157km run that lasted about 0hh:12mm:11ss !

image

Alright, this is my first time loading a GPX file thingamigo... all the fingers crossed.

I'm kicking goals, I've got my passport back... today is my last day of work so I'm frantically trying to get all the things done that I've been putting off for 4 years, it's the last day of a P90X3 challenge I was doing with a friend, so I've got to be ace and do measurements and stuff, and I fly out of sunny Barbados tomorrow.

I've never really been somewhere like this (except for when I was here last)... there's no time in the day or night that it's not 31 degrees and unless you're standing right next to an aircon, which I'm sure is terrible for you, it's the exact same temperature everywhere. Yesterday it rained the hardest I think I've ever seen rain, it was like a wall, and it was still the same temp. So crazy cool.

Running was rough though, I ran along the ocean boardwalk, and I was pretty much instantly out of breath and layered in sweat. I honestly didn't think that my running time was going to be so bad, especially since it was totally flat, but I guess that's the fun of running through a steam room.

You'll all be pleased to know that back home, our kitchen has been 100% gutted. We've now got a full fridge, a stove and a dishwasher right next to the couch, which is pushed up right on the TV... convenient! Not sure what the place will be like in 3 weeks when my Dad and his young kids come to stay with us, might have to borrow some of those hurricane tents and pee-mattresses from the fyre festival.... the kids'll love it.


image
I forgot how photos were taken.


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

Hahaha -- outdoor steam room. Sounds unbearable. Running in the heat is super tough -- sometimes I wonder how @king-cobra can be so consistent over where he is.

I've been lobbying to move the Fridge closer to the couch & TV for some time, now, in an effort to minimize time spent travelling between them. Extremely jealous.

Looks like the GPX uploaded worked well enough, too! What a day. Happy Friday, all around!

Hi guys.. the climate there is similar to my place in Malaysia, 30-31 degrees. We get used to it due to only 1 season throughout year, but if during drought season we might switch to indoor treadmill instead, or else we are in high risk of heat stroke, which the temperature might shoot up to 35 degree.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess that makes sense... we can run throughout the year, except during the icy parts of winter, when, we to have to think about treadmilling it up.... so we all have potential for falling during runs in common, even if they are for opposite reasons.

I don't think anyone realizes that this is the secret motivation for #vanlyfe. It's not embracing nature, it's being able to reach everything without moving.

Good job on Exhaust being rad. I've never embraced this particular component of rad before, but, I can definitely say, at this point, the GPX thing is rad.

I'd like to nominate your first (and only first) picture for National Geographic's photo of the year.

Haha yes! National Geographic is all about the emotions while travelling... and let me tell you... the relief when my passport finally came through...

Your mistake was running along the ocean boardwalk instead of in the ocean? 🤣

I don’t mind high humidity but high humidity and above 30°C is gross.

Yay for kitchen progress and passport and the other things 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Naaawwwwww, y'know, it didn't feel right. Some ocean running would really work those quads and calves.

Haha, it was high humidity and above 30 all the time, even at midnight... the few times it dropped to 27, everyone else started wearing cardigans and pants.

Haha. Your selfies are classics. Also, welcome to my world. Now that it's the wet season there's never any breeze and it's just hot and humid at all times. Doesn't stop me from running on running days at crossfit though!

You're a boss! And then tougher than me when it comes to the humids. In my defense, no part of Melbs or Portland has trained me up for this at all. I blame my non-moist upbringing.

Lol, non-moist upbringing.

You have uploaded 57 running activities, and 1 of them have been of similar distances (within 10 percent)!
Here are your 5-fastest running activities of a similar distance:

Over these 1 similar activities, you have travelled approximately 2.16 kms at an average pace of roughly 5:38 min/km!
Your latest run was at a pace of approximately 5:39min/km!
Looks like you went a bit slower this time! Remember that it's important to take some rest days, and do some rehab / prehab / strength and conditioning training too!

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.637 which ranks you at #1686 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1687).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 170 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78