Basic Mapping (for now) -- The Ideal "EXHAUST" -- and a Question about Privacy

in #exhaust5 years ago (edited)

State of Exhaustion

November 29,2018


Welcome back, Exhaustonauts! (That word is trickier to spell than one would think).



I hope everyone is having an enjoyable last week in November. Hard to believe that things are getting pretty close to wrapping up the wild wild ride that was 2018. It had it's ups and it's downs. If you've played your cards right, and set your priorities on the important things in life (hint: crypto, bitcoin, and steem should likely not be high up on your list -- though there is an opportunity for some cool stuff and relationships with rad people), then hopefully you're one of the lucky ones that had a net-gain in life this year.

I feel like I'm one of the lucky ones.

treasure-map-1850653_1280.jpg

Maps help you get to where you want to be, but you must know where you're from, too

Todays post is gonna have a minor update, a reiteration of my initial idea of what "EXHAUST" should and hopefully will be eventually (for those of you that are relatively new to EXHAUST, or just haven't been listening), and a couple of questions about privacy and some other stuff.


The Update!

  • Maps! Holy Crap!

Check it! I've finally figured out how to get some very basic maps working on the site. Currently, I have it set to not show the map if the user has uploaded their activity with a GPX file, and to only work with a TCX file (this is because, generally, it seems that I'm the only one that uses TCX file format).

I'll be the first to admit that they're not the prettiest -- yet! Just like everything else, you build the skeleton, and then you polish that turd to make it nice and shiny. These maps are VERY rudimentary currently, and there are some very powerful features on the horizon once I upgrade the project to utilize a GIS database rather than a standard SQL database -- but we can talk about that another day. For now -- lets all just continue high-fiving eachother!


My "Vision" for EXHAUST:

People have probably heard me briefly touch on wanting EXHAUST to become "a Steem powered monstrosity that pays people to run, or perform other exercises". This is part of the end goal, but isn't really prescriptive of my thoughts on the "how" or "what" that will get us there. You've probably heard a bit of talk recently about the "power of community" with all the negative price action and recent news about Steemit Inc restructuring. I would say that I pretty well completely agree with the idea that community is power. Solidarity! Power to the many! Rah Rah rah! All that good stuff!

My hope is to eventually begin reaching out to local running / cycling / climbing / hiking / yoga / ENTER-REASONABLE-EXERCISE-HERE stores / gyms / groups, and getting them involved in EXHAUST as well. The idea is essentially that we would be creating a community that is enthusiastic about various sports, and EXHAUST could be a conduit that would give stores / gyms / groups the ability to encourage, reward, coach, and otherwise interact with this community.

As an example -- there is quite literally a locally owned and operated running equipment store about 2 blocks from where I live. A few nights a week, there is a group that congregates at the store and goes for a training run together -- somewhere in the order of 15-20 people.

  • Imagine if these 15-20 people (at this one store) were all using EXHAUST to talk about their runs, socialize with each other, encourage eachother, coach each other, and reward eachother;
  • NOW image if the store that they all meet at formed an "official" STEEM account for their store. Call it the "@victoriarunners" for now. Maybe they'll realize that if they invest $10,000 to acquire STEEM to power up their account, they can directly reward and encourage runners that come to their local store and come out for a jog.
  • What if there was a cute little RaspberryPi computer with a QR code for their STEEM account on the counter, so you can come into the store and redeem your rewards earned from your blood, sweat, and tears for the running equipment you want. (This step is a bit further out -- DSTORS seems compelling -- but might be a bit overkill for what I'm imagining)
    • It's not unreasonable to think that a "Group Page" (think xhaust.me/@victoriarunners/store or something like that) could host a few items that are redeemable for STEEM / SBD.
  • Hopefully this could scale up and out to many sports, at many stores, in many cities, in many countries;

brain-1845940_640.jpg

The above rant was my initial plan for what EXHAUST COULD be. Since then, I've had a couple more cool ideas that I think are pretty compelling, and are currently in progress and ComingSoonTM, such as:

  • An achievements system to gamify exercise;
  • Hosting and coordinating "decentralized races".
    • Maybe on Wednesday, March 20, 2019 (The Spring Equinox for the Northern Hemisphere) we should host the first EXHAUST 5km/10km/21.1km/42.2km Race Event (complete with prize-purse funded by user posts that register for the race...? Could shave off an extra 10% beneficiary cut to fill the purse...)
    • Everyone goes out and runs their best time for the distance they've chosen. Some adjustments would have to be made for runners that have a flat course or a hilly course -- but that's not too tricky.
  • A marketplace for training plans and coaching interactions;
  • The ability for stores / gyms to advertise on the site... (I personally feel like advertising is gross -- but not everything is about me... or so I've been reminded).
  • A place for groups like @runningproject and @cyclefeed to interact and compete with their group, while everyone rewards eachother;
  • For climbing specifically (and potentially hiking as well) -- funds could be directed to nature conservancy / trail maintenance / bolting-funds / alpine clubs / search and rescue groups.

I think I've rambled on enough about what I want EXHAUST to be eventually. Now it's just a matter of finding some time to get it all done. Stay tuned, and please be patient. My attention tends to gravitate towards what's most important at the time (speaking of which, setting up a full Steem node is likely creeping to the top of that list soon -- in which case, it may make sense to set up a Witness... details to come, if I get around to thinking in detail about it).

LET ME KNOW WHAT YOU THINK IN THE COMMENTS BELOW!


A quick question about privacy:

I spoke briefly up top about the basic mapping that is now functional. I also mentioned that it is currently disabled. As we all know -- Steem wallets are very transparent. There's nothing stopping me from exploring the chain and figuring out exactly how much STEEM someone has. With the inclusion of mapping, this obviously introduces a concern. Thankfully, I'm not worth much of anything on here, so nobody has any reason to chase me down. That's not the case for everyone, and not everyone is as unconcerned about sharing their location as myself.

One of my short term goals in regards to mapping is to make an option somewhere (likely in the "Dashboard" -- which desperately needs to be updated in tandem) so users can choose how to share their map info w/ everyone else. Users should be able to choose, for a "default" setting, to share their maps according to one of the options below:

  • Public Maps (Share with everyone);
  • Steem-public maps (Share with anyone that is logged in via SteemConnect);
  • "Following" (Share only with people that you've chosen to follow on Steem);
  • "Followers" (Share only with people that are following you on Steem);
  • "Friends" (Share only with people that are following you, and you are following them back)

However, in the interim -- what are everyones thoughts? I realize that many of you are already currently sharing screenshots of your maps from Strava -- so obviously, not everyone is concerned about it.

I'm going to tag some users here, and hopefully everyone can comment or otherwise voice their opinions! Let me know what you think:
@aussieninja, @run.vince.run, @tradfursten, @toofasteddie, @jackieobermeyer, @mackmck, @ervin-lemark, @romaincrx, @king-cobra, @trevor.george, @lazybot, @lucdevent

A big thanks to all the above for your support, participation, and patience to date!

Keep getting Exhausted!

Sort:  

Soooooo…. the map-ruinning-security thing might not be a big deal... because I imagine most people that would be keen to use it would have already driven to their preferred running spot before starting maps up.

I wouldn't use it normally, because I always run from the house... but if I did a fun run then I would absolutely love to use it. My partner who does the same track at the same time each week probably wouldn't use it, but if she randomized her runs for her own interest then she might... I think Facebook has already taught us not to be too trusting of the internets. I've mentioned before, that even if I did the same track a lot, and someone did bail me up because I'm super steem rich, they'd still have to wait 13 weeks for me to power down and I'd have no idea what my password was without accessing my hard drive. Same with Bitcoin... they'd have to kidnap me, then retrieve my hard storage wallet, then break into my computer or force me to, then force me to make the transfer... and while all that is possible, it's just not super likely when stealing pretty much anything else is easier.

I very, very, very much like your vision.
Would it be hard to customize people's feed so they initially mainly only see their little group? I really do think businesses will be all for it... especially since we're getting more and more immune to advertising, and secondly, because they'd get their $10K back (assuming no lil-timed crypto dump) if they found it wasn't working for them.

I wouldn't use it normally, because I always run from the house... but if I did a fun run then I would absolutely love to use it.

When I get the GIS (Geographic Information System) database working as intended, I could almost certainly set a "Home Point" or something similar that wouldn't show maps if you start your run anywhere within, say, a 5km radius. Def some easy ways to modify it. Could even set it so it's default to "not share" unless it's like you said, a fun-run or something away from HQ.

it's just not super likely when stealing pretty much anything else is easier

Truth! Like the $300 phone I strap to my arm when I"m out there getting tired.

Would it be hard to customize people's feed so they initially mainly only see their little group?

Negative -- pretty easy, to be honest. And it's DEFINITELY on my radar to do soonTM.

because they'd get their $10K back (assuming no lil-timed crypto dump) if they found it wasn't working for them

Definitely an appealing feature! I really hope I can get some of this stuff tidied up to a point where it's "presentable". There's also the issue of having enough SP to create accounts -- which is a pretty huge barrier... One thing at a time, though.

So many one things at a time!

Have you seen the @steemonboarding project? I'm hoping that'll solve our SP for new users issue... or, once you start a witness node, you might naturally acquire enough stake to grab discounted accounts... I think you need about 4500 SP to have enough resource credits to start grabbing them.

I like the roadmap that you state for exhaust.

Hopefully I will be able to register more workouts then I have done the last month.

Regarding maps, I like it and the visibility option is needed. I personally don't care that much but I know that it's required for lots of people.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have no doubts that you'll be back running regularly soon. Your trip to South Africa ( think that's where you said) seemed really cool. Definitely worth a break.

Hey, this manifesto is practically The Whitepaper with a nice and detailed roadmap :)

No, just joking. It's completely OK to have an agile approach regarding priorities and directions.

So, to use maps I need to convert Strava's gps file to tcx format? OK, will learn how to do this.

Regarding privacy - yes, it has to be covered. You have a great approach there. Proposed levels are a natural fit for this blockchain.

Obviously, I don't care about privacy. I practically invite you to visit me with every run I publish :)

About redeeming rewards. It would be easier with SMT :) This certainly is one of the main points for future development.

About witness / seed note, and testnet node too. Yes, you will definitely need it. This fact introduces regular expense, of course.

Follow @actifit's lead :)

Anyways, good work and keep on pushing - with your own speed :)

So, to use maps I need to convert Strava's gps file to tcx format? OK, will learn how to do this.

Nope note really. It works for GPX currently -- I just have it disabled until I have the privacy options discussion with everyone. I'll try to get this set up this weekend, so there should be no need to learn how to convern to TCX file format.

About redeeming rewards. It would be easier with SMT :) This certainly is one of the main points for future development.

I've thought about SMT's, and there's definitely an interest in setting it up. Not on the front of my list though, as it seems with the new Steemit Inc layoffs, it's likely to be postponed some anyways.

About witness / seed note, and testnet node too. Yes, you will definitely need it. This fact introduces regular expense, of course.

Truth! Might need to approach this one intelligently. Doesn't have to be too intense of a server -- Don't anticipate that I'd get very high in the witness list.

The idea of an EXHAUST event is really good. A specific rewarded competition on a particular race.
To be defined, inscription fees and prizes... not bad to think about for the moment...
@trevor.george did a virtual competition on which there was a sort of simulation of an ultrarun race... ask him about because it could fit, at least the idea...

Ah I think I've seen that on some of his posts! That's definitely a cool idea. I'll reach out and chat with him. Thanks!

It's all above my head - but I like it. :-)

Forgot to comment about the events. Definitely a YES.

You could put an event into one article. Comments for entries and chat. Then json metadata for everything else: registration, maps, results, scores, ...

You could put up a proper running league with divisions and teams ...:)

Lots of enthusiasm for the events idea from many people. I'll put a bit more effort into building this out and setting up the first evnt!

Take a look at musing.io's approach. I don't say to hide the content to other frontends. Yet it is interesting how they put almost everything into the metadata field. I wonder if there is a size limit to this field :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11