Freeway Bike Path Ride

in #exhaust6 years ago (edited)

I just finished a 33.33km cycle that lasted about 1hh:41mm:22ss !

image

The weather is warming up and a lot more races are fastly approaching in the coming months. Next weekend my girlfriend and are getting the chance to ride our first cycling race. I have never done something like this before because a lot of races like this are usually reserved for riders of cycling clubs. This is a little different and seems pretty relaxed so I am hoping it will be pretty fun, and if today's ride is anything to judge it should be.

Me and Kirsty did a lot of riding together last Summer where I was able to get a pretty good workout riding my mountain bike, while she was on her road bike. She is a little new to riding so is happy to take it a little easier with me hanging on with my mountain bike. Today we decided to head to the west of Auckland where they have a nice bike path running next to a major freeway. It means we have a good 14km's of riding without any real traffic lights or reasons to stop, so we just do a few laps to get our legs back for the race next week.

Today was a little windy but it was a good day to be out and should mean our 50km race next week should not be that much of an issue.
Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

Awesome ride! I should get out on the bike today -- it's beautiful out here after a rainy 36hrs.

I actually don't have a bike at the moment... which is rough because I used to love cycling to work back in Melbs. I'm sure you understand better than most... we're not super sure how long we'll be away from Melbourne (I'd be fine with forever, but my partner gets really homesick, she's very close with her family) so we haven't bought a lot of stuff just in case we do move back... but your ride looks awesome. Super jealous!

I actually don't have a bike at the moment... which is rough because I used to love cycling to work back in Melbs. I'm sure you understand better than most... we're not super sure how long we'll be away from Melbourne (I'd be fine with forever, but my partner gets really homesick, she's very close with her family) so we haven't bought a lot of stuff just in case we do move back... but your ride looks awesome. Super jealous!

Yeah I know what you mean, I am in a pretty similar situation but got a cheek bike for $300. Its a hassle but buying a cheap bike gives you an excuse to go for a ride, it could be worth it.
Regards Vince

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49