You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The war on comfort.

in #exhaust5 years ago

The obsession about being uncomfortable is probably pretty unhealthy, because that desperate need to push yourself at all costs is how you get hurt and how you are then forced to rest and then you lose your condition with the rest but if you push it then no more Ninja Warrior for you ever XD

The drive to do better is all right though. Keep that one up ;D

Don't blame you, running is boring XD Do you actually need to be able to marathon run for Ninja Warrior? From pure observation and otherwise knowing sfa it seems to me that sprints are more important, so maybe instead of running you could just flog along as long as you can in spurts and intersperse with a brisk walk? It's what I did when I went running with my sister on Christmas Island but it's also because I like sprinting and I can't run long distance XD

Sort:  

That's a really good point.
I'm not sure if I actually understand the difference in a real world sense... but it might just be a matter of perception. If I tell myself that I want to complete my training sessions so that I'm always improving, that might be healthier than looking to be uncomfortable.

You're absolutely right!
Sprints are more important, which is why I try and do some hill sprints on my running days. I did find in my last competition that I was completely knackered. I successfully completed all the obstacles, but I was so tired that I missed out on 3rd place by 20 seconds. That was entirely due to endurance. So my hill sprints are for strength and that explosive power, and the running is for the endurance to link the series of obstacles together and to recover from each one quicker.

Do you have the time to try doing sprints in between walks and see if that makes your endurance better or worse?

Otherwise don't worry about feeling like you'd much rather not be running because you're at least running despitepreferring not to :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91