My experience of working as a beggar

in #experience6 years ago

Hi, dear fellow members and new comers! I’m Vivian. Today I’d like to share a very special experience with you. That is, I ever worked as a beggar.
beggar.jpg

(picture source:word.langfly.com )

Why did I want to act as a beggar?

Supposing that I’m broke and have to survive one day,what should I do?

Maybe being a beggar and go to the restaurant to pick up leftovers is a good choice.In this way,I can fill my stomach and reduce waste of the restaurant.

Yeah,it just like a saying said, “Kill two birds with one stone.”kill two birds with one stone.png

(picture source:m.solar.ofweek.com )

One night of last August,I experienced the feeling of being a beggar with my classmate Miss Xu. We went to a restaurant to pick up leftovers and didn’t cost a penny to have supper.

supper.jpg

(picture source:life.people.com.cn )

At about 7 o’clock p.m,we met at Chengdu Tianfu Square with an empty stomach.We decided to go to a restaurant to eat leftovers for free.

Miss Xu was thoughtful and suggested packing food in bags.

So we went to a Hongqi supermarket to buy plastic freshness protection packages.

After we paid at the cashier desk,we realized that we were not careful and bought plastic wrap.

We said to the cashier: “ Actually we want plastic bag.But we bought it wrong.” The cashier handed us four plastic bags with no charge.

Then we went out to look for restaurants.

If you want to be a beggar to beg for food, the first step is to put down your face.

At first, we came to a very high-end vegetarian restaurant.

We greeted the waiter and said “Hi, brother!”.

I was still a bit timid and too embarrassed to say we need food.

We had no way but walked out that vegetarian restaurant and continued to looking for restaurants.

After a few minutes,we found a restaurant which sells pig’s feet near Tianfu square.The restaurant was doing very well and had a large flow of people. So we decided to get leftovers from this restaurant.

Firstly, we observed the people inside the restaurant.We noticed that some customers would pack the rest food, and even if they did so, there were still some left.

We set a goal of staring at a table of diners outside the restaurant, waiting for them to finish their meal and get ready to pack.

After waiting about five or six minutes, the customer finished eating and left. We immediately went in and told the waitress that we wanted to pack the rest food. The waitress agreed.

Then, we took out the plastic bag immediately. One bag was for rice,the other bag for vegetables and meats. Within a minute, two bags were filled. We walked out of the restaurant with satisfactory.

But we didn’t have chopsticks,how to eat these leftovers?

chopsticks.jpg

(picture source:www.frbiz.com )

So I came to another restaurant and said to a young waitress:"Sister, can you give me two chopsticks?" The waitress agreed and gave me two disposable chopsticks with saying nothing.

With chopsticks, Miss Xu and I put the food on the roadside stone table and began to eat.How delicious the food was! I still remembered the taste of this meal.

This time we were successful to be beggars, without losing any face as we didn’t meet anyone we knew, and what was more,we ate very delicious food.

This experience added color to my life, it was as if it had happened yesterday. I often asked myself: what did I learn from this experience?

Firstly, it surrendered my arrogance.I learned to put down my body and face to survive. I got the leftovers of the restaurant which would be put into the garbage.I saved money for dinner and reduced the rubbish for the society.

leftover.jpg

(picture source:my.hoopchina.com )

Secondly,I realized that surviving in this world was not difficult.Even if you’re broke, as long as you can put down your face,go to the restaurants to pick leftovers can help you survive,let alone do some not so decent jobs.

difficult.gif

(picture source:lang-8.com )

Last but not least, something comes from nothing.Even if I’m broke today,it doesn’t matter.Where there’s a will,there’s a way.I know how to make good use of my current resources and conditions and make myself live better.

Hi, my dear fellow members and new comers,today I shared this special experience with you.How do you think of it?I hope to get your feedback.Thank you !

Sort:  

You are awesome! Thanks for sharing these life lessons. You are welcome on Steemit. I'm giving you a follow and a retweet.

Thank you very much for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71