English Grammar - I am at school and I am in school which is correct?

in #experience6 years ago (edited)

source
My line of work brings me joy ,especially when I know I can inculcate knowledge.
When it was time for recess at my place of work,two of my fellow teachers, Harrison and Joe came to me, they said there was a question they wanted me to sort out for them and I agreed to help them out. Joe asked me a question:
I am at school and I am in school which is correct?
After asking the question Harrison told me they decided to ask me because I am a phonics instructor so they are relying on my answer. Well I wasn't expecting that question but this was my reply:
I am at school is British English while I am in school is American English.
Both are correct.
AT shows presence or physical location.
When I say I am at school it means I am inside the school premises or grounds. I don't necessarily have to be a student to be at school, parents can be at school when they accompany their children to school.
I gave two example sentences,

  1. I have been at school since 8 AM .
    (that means I have been inside the school premises or grounds )
    2.I was at school with my child.
    (that means I have Been inside the school premises with my child)
    IN shows during or actively doing something.
    When I say I am in school it means I am receiving tutoring or I am learning. I have to be a student to be in school even if it via online tutoring or learning.
    I also gave one exams sentence,
  2. While you called I was in school so I couldn't answer the phone to avoid being distracted.
    (that means I was being taught while the call came)

I am not an English teacher but being a phonics instructor makes me abreast with English language and they were pleased with my answer.
I was happy I could inculcate knowledge not just to children but to adults too.
Thanks for stopping by!!

preshey-1.gif

Sort:  

You got a 1.39% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @preshey!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

You got a 1.73% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @preshey! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

This post proves to be a worthy post for the #dynamicsteemians initiative, bringing knowledge, people, and resources together to succeed on the steemit blockchain. Support @dynamicrypto and @dynamicgreentk, the visionaries behind this cause and whom summoned me to upvote your post.

Currently there is a tier system in place that determine your upvote amount from @thundercurator, they are:

  • use the tag dynamicsteemians and receive a $0.05
  • use the tag and mention thundercurator in your post and receive a $0.10
  • use the tag and mention thundercurator and dynamicgreentk in your post and receive a $0.15 upvote from thundercurator

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69033.32
ETH 3748.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67