Don't Ever Panic Underwater! The Longest 5 Seconds Of My Life [A True Story]

in #extremesports6 years ago (edited)

Panic causes tunnel vision. Calm acceptance of danger allows us to more easily assess the situation and see the options. - Simon Sinek

So far I had never really been in a situation in the water where panic was involved. Probably that's due to the fact that - besides all the adrenaline seeking - I had always tried to stay on a level where I have still full control over the situation.

Today the game changed slightly.

For the first time ever I truly realized why extreme sports have the word extreme in it, and that dangerous situations where a cool mind is needed, are part of the adventure.

What makes a situation becoming dangerous? The lack of control. If you suddenly find yourself being faced with completely new circumstances that are apparently beyond your control, the only thing that can help you trading your way out of it is experience.

Even though the situation is new, your general knowledge and mindset will help you to make the right decision and guide you through.

Luckily, five years of experience in watersports and a good portion of self-control and composure have helped me to literally find the way out of the tunnel today.

Here's why I was somehow reborn today!

va5umy1b9a.png

The longest 5 seconds of my life

Today's windsurfing session started like all the others I had before. I was in a good mood, ready to rock my home town's bay.

Now the only difference was that for the first time ever I was supposed to use a harness.

It's a belt with a hook you wear on your hips. Once you're in the correct position and gathering way, you can hook the harness into the harness lines that are fixed to the boom (cross-bar tied to the sail).

The great benefit of the harness is that - while hooked - you can save some energy. Windsurfing takes a lot of it, especially out of the arms. The harness is the solution to these problems.

Everything was easy and chilled until I fall back into the water while still being hooked.

The sail felt on top of me while the hook pulled me under. What a trap! I realized that I was in trouble when I tried to go back to the water surface - but I couldn't.

9hcbfvsi1o.png

For a second I thought: 'That was it.'

From the corner of my eye - through the transparent parts of the sail - I saw another windsurfer passing by but he didn't see me down there.

When I realized that the hook was pulling me under (downwards) while I desperately tried to move into the opposite direction (upwards), I made an important decision:

Stop panicking, it's paralyzing your brain! Nobody but you will get you out here.

Then - in a split second - I remembered everything I had learned about watersports, diving and how panic can determine whether you gonna make it or not.

My next thought was:

If you want or not, you need to go down there again, hook yourself off and then swim back to the water surface.

And that's what I did.

I pushed myself deeper underwater, hooked off the harness and paddled around the sail that was blocking my way out.

Back at the water surface I took the deepest breath of fresh oxygen ever.

When I opened my eyes I noticed that some tears started to blend into the salty water.

0uclakjxll.png

It was strange feeling: I was shocked and relieved at the very same time. While I'm writing this, I'm still in a mood of perplexity.

Now I'm pretty aware of the fact that if I had let panic rule me, this wouldn't have turned out all right.

The surf instructor picked me up with the boat and recommended me to relax for a while, take off the harness and not go back surfing immediately. Yet, I opted for the contrary, not wanting to let any type of fear arise and then being attached to that harness.

I knew I wouldn't ever forget that moment when I tried to get up and breath but the sail bared the way. It was really extreme and I was full of fear.

Yet, I also knew that this experience wouldn't threaten me the next time sailing, it would only make me wiser and stronger.

Five minutes later I had worked up the courage to go back surfing.

83c6irwy9u.png

Stay safe, steemians - and please don't panic! :-)

Much love,
Marly -
Steem Ambassador
.
.
.
h8k8q6qssd.png
This blog was created in July 2016, aiming to provide thought-provoking content for open-minded people who go on adventure, step out of comfort zones and embrace the new.
Thanks for being part of the journey!

u63vqd930f.png

PS: All my blog posts are created and submitted via eSteem Surfer 1.1.12 - my favorite Steem desktop client that was developed by @good-karma's @esteemapp team. Check out their account for more information and updates.

Original content. Underwater and surf pictures found on pixabay.com: 1 and 2

Sort:  

I used to sail Enterprise dingies years ago and sometimes used to get trapped under the sail during a capsize. First time was scary as I also had a foot trapped in my foot straps.
I wasn't calm, I was panicing and under such a situation I went route one, pushing the sail up to give me breathing space. Adreneline in such situations gives you extra physical strength, but once Id had that first breath, then i calmed and simply stopped squirming and slid my foot out easily.
I just remember the cold, it was a reservoir in the North of England in April lol....
You did a million times better than me, you stayed calm, the situation was sortable and you sorted it. Well done to you. Be proud of yourself, you already know never to underestimate the water :-)

Oh wow, that really sounds like a tough experience of yours! I'm really glad you managed to get out of it, too.

you already know never to underestimate the water :-)

Oh, you can tell! I never did, but since today I've got even more respect.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your own story @nathen007, I always appreciate reading your comments :-)

Quite a story. Oxygen is rather precious you know.

Hahaha, oh yeah - you can tell!! :-))

wow scary! Accepting death is actually pretty brave of you. I guess it's also what saved you.

I'm not scared of dying, I just don't want to. - Robbie Williams

:-)

Not sure if I was accepting death, it was rather the opposite. What saved me was my will to survive.

Thanks for stopping by on my wild day, @bearbear613 - and stay safe! :-)

Well when you said, "that's it" sounded like you accepted it. Obviously you have a will to survive, but perhaps you accepting that moment that it's over, well maybe that's what calmed you down? I donno just reaching or perhaps taking it out of context. A split second of clarity perhaps.

Oh now I got it. Yes, totally! There was this split second of acceptance, but then the next moment I said: naaaaah, not yet!!! :-D

So glad ur safe!

Much love!

Thank you!!! Me, too :-)))
Big hugs and kisses

Good to read your doing ok!

First rule indeed never panic in those situations. Your right about the danger part while doing extreme sports. Everyone is seeking that thrill but you can't think all the time about the things that could happen. That's why you need to be focused when things did happen en you need to solve things. When you panic there is no focus.

Told you already but will reply here to maybe others have something about it while reading my comment. When you got under your sail and you want to get away from it but all you grab is foil, foil and nothing but foil. You don't know where to swim, and that's where the panic starts usually. So DON'T panic! Try to find a batten while your there underneath the water (or the boom, actually the best tip is never let go the boom while your falling/crashing, it will keep your gear away from your head to). The battens are there at the full width of your sail and usually with a distance from approx 70-80cm between them. The best part, you can feel them although you couldn't even see a thing underwater. When you find one, just follow it either left or right it will end somewhere.

If you're still hooked in the harness, it's even easier. Try to position yourself inline with the boom. The distance from your head to your hook + the length of the line is way longer than the distance from the mast till the position of the lines at the boom. That way you can catch a breath while you can unhook yourself calm.

After that don't stop surfing. Just get on the water (yes @surfermarly just like you did my hero! 💪) and have some fun falling in the water again. Falling isn't a failure, it means you're learning new things!

Hang loose 🤙

Thanks a lot for your valuable advice!
In this case I had no issues in actually finding the right way, I was just stuck down due to the harness being hooked to the boom. The true problem was that I wasn't expecting this to happen since I had never been using the harness before and couldn't even imagine what might happen when falling backwards being hooked to the sail. Now I understand the mechanics much better and can imagine/predict such situations to happen. Hence, the next time I'll be very well prepared - both physically and mentally :-)

PS: I'd never ever stop surfing in my life even if it was supposed to be the last thing to do...:-)

Hang loose, oh yeah! Haha

We are often on the edge, without even knowing. But the fact you actually new and realized the danger you were in, is even more terrifying. So glad you came out of this dangerous situation allright.

I'm very glad, too - as you may imagine :-))

Well if you practice these type of sports you're actually aware of the risk. Yet, when the danger suddenly appears, you're still not 100% ready. There are always these seconds of: Fuck, and now? until you actually think: hey, I need to keep cool and do something smart. Haha

Thanks for stopping by on my crazy day!

Underwater training with breath holding is great for learning to control panic in all situations & adrenal fatigue. As simple as swimming under water as far as u can, & extending the distance the next time.

Glad u made it!

That's actually a super valuable advice I'll be definitely following!
So far I had never specifically practiced to hold my breath, but now - after these type of experiences - I realize how important it is in terms of watersports.

Thank you @ceattlestretch! So according to your profile description you're 420 feet above which means that ceattle doesn't refer to Seattle, right? :-))

Sorry, sometimes I'm just tooooo curious! haha

Have a nice weekend

That’s just a silly, “hi” weed reference 😂

& I’m right outside of the seattle area in the “little Mumbai” suburbs filling up with programmers from all over the world.

I used to swim in the pool a lot & would always start & end my swims with underwater laps. Never quite got down & back underwater but pretty close. Nothing teaches you how important breathing is like water. Even jiu jitsu with a human trying to strangle u doesn’t compare. Heart rate control!

Another great breathing & breath holding guy to study is wim hof the iceman. He’s got some cool tricks

Wow, you're really familiar with the topic. Awesome! Thanks a lot for the valuable tips @ceattlestretch with weed refererence :-D lol

Ooooo not nice to read, frightening, but have to say I'm impressed by the strength to just get back in - and now you will go back stronger next time too......

I guess that's the positive take-away: I'll be even better prepared next time :-)
Thanks for stopping by, Chris! It's been a wild day - but with a big happy end, hehe

Good post!!!
👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78