A DDoS attack won't bring Steem down.

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)

IMG_5486.jpg


When I wanted to access the Steem Blockchain through the Steemit.com website today I was greeted with this.


Screenshot 20190314 at 09.51.15.png


To make sure it wasn't any problem on the blockchain level I quickly checked other frontends to access the blockchain.

I checked the Partiko app on my phone to see if that would load. It did.



I then checked Steempeak.com to see if that worked and it did. (I'm using it right now to make this post).



And after a few seconds of research on Steempeak I found this post by Steemit Inc. about Steemit.com and the troubles they are having.

Intermittent outages due to ddos.

Well, that explained the 504 Gateway Time-out. A DDoS attack.

In 2016 this would have been a great deal for most users with Steemit.com being the only front-end to the blockchain.

Nowadays we have so many front-ends to access the blockchain I wish these DDoS people good luck getting them all down at the same time.

And even then, the underlying blockchain will just keep turning, making the data still accessible to anyone that knows how.

What a difference from Facebook that funnily enough also went down yesterday.


Screenshot 20190314 at 10.10.51.png


I only knew about it because Bianca (girlfriend) told me about it last night (I don't have facebook).

She could not 'talk' with her friends and that was it.

What a shame...no other frontends to access Facebook and no way for her to access her data.

Centralised Social Media vs Decentralised Social Media on a blockchain.

I sure know which one I prefer.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

I was happy that I could simply go into settings in Steemify and switch to busy from Steemit

Very Handy!

Thanks for explaining what's going on here - and with Facebook yesterday. I'm actually embarrassed to say I still use it - just to keep in touch with relatives overseas and hillwalking friends. I thought I'd been blocked from it, lol. And a great suggestion to use some of the other Steem apps.

I have both Facebook and Instagram. I didn't even realize they were down until I went on twitter and saw all the post. I was wondering what the heck is going on. I guess quite a few people was pretty upset lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

YEs ... I was see it also all morning :) ... And I was use esteem there all was work like swiss knife, so soon this problem repaired. I think this 3 years we have see many times this problems... but all problems are solved quickly and steem works very good.

This is amazing to be able to access from another frontend and be part of a resilient blockchain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting that Facebook, Instagram and Steemit are under attack. No problem using Steem blockchain. It does highlight a major advantage that Steem has.

Posted using Partiko Android

No doubt! I have been dealing with issues from my end users off and on over the past 24 hours. It is nice to know that we can still access the things that are important to us :)

The attack starts this morning GMT +8 until today. Yesterday evening I still can access steemit but it's response is too slow. Lucky me, I had to many choices.

Posted using Partiko Android

When I read the title of your post I thought the main topic would be the FB issue of last night. Of which I was thinking, that wouldn't happen to steem :)

Funny coincidence though!

I think if anything it gave us ammo to prove there’s no getting us down hahaha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75