Vlog 380: Positive Steem blockchain talk. Good things that came out of recent events.

in #exyle5 years ago


Two weeks into the news of the lay offs and it's easier to see how the news has affected the blockchain.

From absolute despair and anger as an initial reaction for me, I am now seeing more positive signs.

A lot will be learned from this event and the bear market. And I believe we will come out stronger in the long run.

A lot of bad things can be said about current events. But to start this Monday off, I like to focus on all positive signs that came out of it.

But first:


@blockbrothers is one the few witnesses that is trying to keep the community informed about current events.

If you appreciated this aspect of our witness and want to support it, please consider us for a witness vote. We are currently in spot #38.

Besides informing we also develop applications for the blockchain. We are most known for Steemify.

We also have skin in the game.

You can vote for us through SteemConnect

Thank you for considering us.


Screenshot 2018-12-10 at 10.44.57.png


Positive things that came out of the recent events and bear market.


  1. Relying on STEEM or Steem inc. to pay for everything is a not the way.
  2. A revenue stream outside the reward pool is needed for all developers and content creators.
  3. Steem inc. is financially stable with Fiat according to Ned after the lay offs and they have a reset focus (RocksDB, SMT-lite).
  4. There are other parties outside of Steem inc. that can develop for the blockchain and are heavily invested into it, like @blocktrades.
  5. There are Steemians that are working on their form of tokenisation for the blockchain. (@fulltimegeek, @yabapmatt, @harpagon)
  6. The low STEEM price has given everyone that ever wanted to invest in Steem a chance to do so.
  7. Unlike the downtrend of 2016/2017 (I call it the dark ages, Steem was dead in the water). A lot of members are still here and contributing and also a lot of development is going on. I will focus on this in future posts.

I talk about it more in my vlog.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

thanks for everything you guys do man. got my vote for sure. the ability to break complicated topics down for the rest of us is appreciated. that is so needed during these times where there is so much fear and doubt.

as for steem, i know people hate the bear markets...personally i can’t believe i’m getting steem this cheap. lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank for the support, man! Good luck investing!

Thanks for making this video, this clears a lot up for me. I have to admit that I was one of the people who was adamant on Steemit Inc. providing us with more transparency about its finances. Ned's statement on that private Slack was definitely enough to keep my worries at bay.

Gave Blockbrothers my witness vote & took advantage of the low Steem price to get myself to dolphin status. I guess we'll see if it was the right call in a few months or so (or longer).

Thanks for your vote on our witness today and congrats on becoming a dolphin!

curious as to what tale you were giving to think the holdings and extensive sell off by steemit inc isnt a problem

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPJiGvncoe8rHJQFEBMfwfC9zXCv9Tf1Tg9tCgU5pPVCz1rM58srsP4PxXkGpjnmUpeDRZxALuU.png

(Credits to @inertia)

lol so far from the truth

steemit inc sold millions from the very beginning, since last year have heavily funded bots so claims they are funded by FIAT is a joke

here is an early post on their first sell-offs through the system anyways much was sold prior to launch under the table

https://steemit.com/steemit/@leavemealone/ned-and-dantheman-dump-50-500-steem-on-market-today-wtf-is-going-on

I don't know, reading the comments on that post, it might be somewhat misleading information. I'm not outright dismissing it, but I'd appreciate a second opinion on this.

Maybe @exyle can chime in for a second?

the comments on that post are a good display of the tactics used by higher ups on STEEM dont see the issue with them might be surprising to hear the extent of manipulation when STEEM was supposed to be a solution to problems with mainstream media LOL

but seems you need evidence here is some accounts owned by steemit inc and the sell off at the beginning

@steem

@ned via @bittrex

@ned via @poloniex

@dan via @poloniex

@dantheman via @bittrex

@dantheman via @poloniex

bear in mind these are very few accounts but you can see clearly a small amount to the extent of how much steemit inc and co have been cashing out and that the recent statements they have made are cover stories to protect the value of whats left to sell

Hearing you gives me confidence as well as you have plenty of stake and experience here so that encourages me to move forward. I have updated my witness votes from your previous post and have about 4-5 left to give so look forward to continuing hearing from witnesses on their developments for the community!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm sure they will appreciate the votes! I will keep informing!

RocksDB seems to be the most important. I'm no programmer though, so what do I know.

You are right! RocksDB will lower the costs of the full nodes making it possible for many more ppl to run a full node. This will decentralise the blockchain a lot!

As always, amazing video and thank you for always being a core part of this platform. I've been here 10 months and this is my chance, I'll be investing HARD when we hit bottom. I don't think we've come close to the bottom tho. I know that's kinda scary to say, LOL. I see nothing in the charts that shows a bear market incoming but when I feel it's bottom I'm investing HEAVY

All I can say good luck investing and I hope you will hit your targets!

I won’t invest till I feel it’s bottom and we’re no way close to bottom

The other positive for me about events over the past fortnight is that it brought the role of the witnesses into sharp focus (actually, I'd really appreciate it if you vlogged a bit about what the witnesses do. You may have done this before, but it would be good to have a current view). Like many people, I'm surprised that we're not hearing much, if anything, from the top 20 witnesses.

Thanks also about the tip for keeping some liquid steem alongside powering up. I had been wondering about what to do when the price increases, and this helps me develop my plan :)

another great vlog mate. i love the way you approach things, sensible! great job, keep that level head man! :) hey if you wanna join in our #adventube let me know, i want to build an MVP of it next year. come by and check it out.

Hit me up on Discord and lets see what we can do! Been a while since I used the green screen.

awesome, i'll message you tomorrow. tell you about this project. see if your interesting in doing something occasionally, don't expect people to do it daily but it's pretty fast to do and upload with the ios app of hosting we use, i wanna build on it to make a little MVP/startup for next year -- i'll message you!

being here and steeming is the biggest positive thing that i see for longevity of this blockchain

I really do agree with your statements. Especially that last one. I have been really impressed lately with the amount of development that is still continuing even though the price of all cryptos has been going down. I think that speaks a lot towards the longevity of these projects even if the markets don't recover right away.

Some positive news indeed if Steemit Inc are financially sound. Hopefully tomorrow's stream will clear things up and I will be in a better position/mindset to buy in.

Voted for your Witness appeal ages ago, but hopefully others will. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm looking forward to the stream as well and thanks again for your support for @blockbrothers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71