Vlog 383: The state of Steem.

in #exyle5 years ago


Yesterday I was on the State of Steem forum.

I thought it was very up lifting.

There is enough talent and expertise on this blockchain to make it succeed outside of Steemit inc. (if that would be needed).

Also, the realisation is hitting home now that for the STEEM token to go up besides the markets (a.k.a Bitcoin, that we don't control) we have to start monetising the blockchain by generating revenue outside of the reward pool.

Which means finding ways to create demand for people to buy STEEM.

Steem Monsters has shown how it can be done by selling packs in exchange for other crypto or fiat.

It can be done with subscription models for apps (Partiko, Steemify, Esteem), Advertisement with possible kickback programs to content creators that generate the most revenue ect. ect.

I talk about it more in my vlog.

ps. I start the the video with a shoutout to Evelyn. @mattclarke's daughter.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It was a great show indeed with lots of valuable and reassuring input. The date for the next one in this series is already thick in my calendar.

This is what exactly I am saying.
And this is why I like the idea of @dstors.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice review of the situation. Does anyone have a link to a recording?

I have not found it yet. I'll ask @pennsif about it and link it in one of your comments.

That would be great!

Thanks man!

Yes please! I would love to hear the convo as well.
Thanks buddy!

That was perfect, thanks mate. She'll be delighted.
I'm traveling at the moment. In Katoomba for the Teamaustralia Christmas party, so I'll show her when I'm back on Tuesday. Appreciate you taking the time.
received_267530890604918.jpeg
Portrait by @wildflowerjessi.

That really was such an uplifting show yesterday. i finally bailed @ midnight, but looking back at the feed it seems there were still people in there at 1.00 a.m!

The sun's come out this a.m. too, it's almost like it's signifying a new dawn for steem.

@starkerz's ideas are especially interesting. Having heard him speaking on the same topic in last week's UK meet virtual meet up it's amazing to hear how he's refined his explanation in just one week. He has a way of making you shift your thinking about the blockchain.

I'd never actually grasped the significance of delegation for businesses before: the fact that they could effectively hand over capital to (for example) a marketing company on steem without actually handing over their capital is truly innovative.

Although we'd probably need the crypto markets to stabilise a bit first. Lots to process from that meet up and all of it very encouraging!

I might just waste my afternoon in the pub to celebrate: Friday/ sun/ good news in December, that's a rare combination after all.

It does feel very promising 😊
There are some dilemmas between distributing steem and getting wide acceptance - Steemit has been very good for that; and holding value and a stable market price through attracting more investors; and between an alternative economy which is also, at the moment, linked to the fiat economy. All those dichotomies need to be held and worked through. I'm starting to write a board paper for our trustees and it's starting to bring some things into sharp focus (although I think that's a good thing)!
Regardless, the pub is a very good option for a Friday afternoon.

That paper sounds very interesting. I can only imagine how difficult it is... let me guess... you're struggling to explain it without making it sound like a Ponzi scheme?!?

That's probably the biggest thing that bugs me!

Yes, we need to think about this ... but meanwhile you've distracted me with mention of the pub ... 😎

Oh sorry.. it's just such a nice day. I'm now thinking quick walk and then mid pm in the beer garden.

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't be sorry, I'm only envious!

Ps what's your discord name (it keeps asking me for the numbers)

I'd never actually grasped the significance of delegation for businesses before: the fact that they could effectively hand over capital to (for example) a marketing company on steem without actually handing over their capital is truly innovative.

It is, but as he stated and you said a stable STEEM price and Steemit inc. would help.

@exyle You are kind of like a cartoon. 🤣 Hi man. Here in Austin🤠 meeting up with Steemit.🎄 Happy Holidays my friend. 🍻 Advice to every1. 🚔💵Start a business that generates revenue.💶

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome man, hope you have a great time and let us know if you find out anything new :)

Will be waiting on any news! I never did end up finding you in Athens.

that was cool that you explained that to her! :) nice one for turning up last night dude. makes a massive difference! :)

Is there a link to state of steem video/audio ?

I have asked @pennsif, I will let you know if I find one.

I love the positive side of this video and I know this blockchain will thrive even without Steemit Inc. The community and engagement make us stronger and move us together somewhere even greater!

Uplifting is an understatement! The passion overheard was awesome to experience and the engagement in chat was the best I have seen ever; better than Steemfest in my opinion! The community is beginning to see and appreciate a more decentralized future for the ecosystem which is a priority I think we will see in the coming months thanks to the talent focused on these opportunities. Thanks for your participation!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66