You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog 459: A sad day for Steem

in #exyle4 years ago

It's not about why or who's account it is. It's about the precedent.


To take your example:

There was never a reason for me to punch anyone. I never thought about it, it was never an option in my mind or anyone else.

The precedent that you have created is, that now, if I feel threatened, that it's justified to punch while before there was never a reason to punch. It was never an option!

But now it is.

The problem is once a precedent to punch has been created other reasons will follow. This is how it always goes.


The same goes for freezing accounts.

There was never a reason to freeze an account. I never thought about it, it was never an option in my mind or anyone else.

You guys opened a box and allowed the first precedent to escape. Freezing accounts are now justified under 'uncertain' circumstances.

Now that the first account has been frozen other precedents to freeze accounts will follow. The idea is now out there.

It can even happen while some of the original top 20 witnesses are long gone.

You guys opened a box that should have never been opened.

Steem will never be the same.

Sort:  

What precedent?

It's a feature not a bug.

I must say, I'm surprised that you are so surprised this type of move is possible on a DPOS blockchain and now feel "sad" about it.

That's the whole point of having a DPOS blockchain. A DPOS blockchain is supposed to be an enterprise blockchain. It's not trying to achieve to do what bitcoin does.

Because of the influence you have on this platform, I would have thought you better understood how this works.

Where does it say that witnesses have to first check with the rest of the community before they take action?

IMO, the witnesses did actually read the sentiment quite correctly. You can't just buy a blockchain and then do with it what you want. Of course, you can't!

Now the ball is in the camp of Tron or @justinsunsteemit and I hope he likes how the steem community forms more of challenge than some of his previous acquisitions did.

More exciting, no?

If I was an entrepreneur like Justin, I would like this kind of push back.

Great times ahead!

I am not surprised a move like this is possible. Where do you get that from? I was fully aware it could be done.

I'm 'sad' about it because it has been done.

Justin did not buy a blockchain, he bought a company and a whole bunch of tokens. And in my opinion, it was a legitimate buy. I never considered those tokens mine.

I think Justin will love how his account was frozen and the trust this has created. the process of unfreezing will be interesting.

I agree with you. It's about the precedent. The fact that this CAN be done pretty much ruins steem, whether it could previously or not is not the point, it's known now that it can and will be done.

There was never a reason for me to punch anyone.

i can't look for it now, but was there not a message from some exchange about the need to swap steem token as soon as possible and if not you will not be able to do so in the future? was that a figment of imagination of theirs? Were not there public announcements from official accounts about token swap and assimilation even after he said that is not an option? I don't particularly like the idea of freezing accounts but can you say that there was no plan of assimilation? Tweets after his AMA were probably planned before and no one stopped them, but maybe shows that there were plans...

I blame Ned. And still think he misrepresented this sale to Tron Foundation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69084.83
ETH 3770.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52