My "Farewell" to Facebook (kinda, sorta...)

in #facebook6 years ago

Last night I kinda-sorta "bit the bullet" and posted to Facebook that I will not be visiting the site for a year, and why. This is what I posted:

I'm not sure how to say what needs to be said, but I guess that the best way is to just come out and say it.

My friends all know that I loathe politics. That doesn't mean that I don't follow political issues or that I don't have an opinion; it means that I find the topic distasteful in the extreme and, thus, I tend to avoid getting involved in political conversations. That said, what simply cannot escape notice is that Facebook, itself, seems to be trying to pigeonhole its members into a particular way of thinking and discussing, taking down the pages of dissenters or non-compliers without warning. Sometimes the pages are restored, sometimes not, but the facts don't change: Facebook has an agenda, and it isn't a nice one.

So, because I simply cannot condone this attitude, I'm going to abandon my Facebook page. I'm not going to close it; I'm going to stay away from it for one year at the end of which I will then decide whether or not to close the account.

To all my friends: I can be found on Steemit and Minds, under the name, "Bitemore." I am also on
Newstalkers, as Bitemore Gfotwo. Please do NOT feel as though I am abandoning you; I am not (if I were, I wouldn't tell you where I can be found). But I simply cannot abide a public website, Facebook, that has a clear political agenda, never mind whether or not I agree with its political stance. ALL views need to be expressed freely, and Facebook is making that impossible. I wouldn't be surprised to return to Facebook a year from now and find my page gone. That is the risk I am willing to take. There is far more at stake here than a simple platform for socializing. I firmly believe in free speech for ALL points of view. That really is the bottom line.

Friends, I love you dearly, and doing this is not going to be easy, but do it I must if I'm not to be a
hypocrite. I hold dear the simple values, and Facebook seems all too willing to sabotage those same values any way it can.

I'll check back here next August.

Friends: be well, be kind to each other, stay safe, and never forget that I value each and every one of you.

Adios!

20150623 After the Storm 01.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @bitemore! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @bitemore! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70