I just hit the DELETE button on Facebook... we all think we know why... so why was there fear?

in #facebook6 years ago

How_to_delete_Facebook_account_permanently.jpg

As much as it embarrasses me to admit it, I had to do a Google search to find a tech who could tell me how to find the actual page with what is NOT a big red button, sadly enough. So why this post, because it isn't that big a deal and yes, I do appreciate the Steemit platform more for all of the reasons we post about... and no, I do not drive traffic from FB here. Soooo... here's the story.

This morning I read a post from someone I follow on Medium. It reiterated a concept I was taught by a mentor years ago. Do something you are afraid of every day. It has been decades now, and while I can't say I have consciously done this every day for the past few decades, today I took it to heart.

Why FB? Well... some things go without saying. BUT, because this was something I have actually done twice before AND for some weird reason, I have hesitated to do again for a few months now.

This is the third FB account I am deleting. Account one was created while I was setting up one of my entrepreneurial ventures about 10+ years ago. I was after the traffic and paid an admin to find friends, do the endless manual inviting of same (no tools then) and did gain quite a few followers and some traffic to my classes and talks.

Then, as is with the world these days, my venture shifted. I needed a new online presence and the old one on FB felt jaded and obsolete. It was! So I deleted the account. Yay! Celebrations aplenty!

I then began a new version of 'me' and in the re-inventing process was advised, a bit against my better judgment, to open a new FB account and persevere there. I set up an opening video and all of the bells and whistles that that timing indicated. The vibe then was that no one would have a website anymore, everyone would just have FB pages and stores. Yah-huh. And, of course, that endeavor shifted as well and it was so very much simpler to delete that account than to try to drag its very unwieldy steering mechanism in another direction. Yay! Celebrations, the remix!

So this third account was set up only a year or so ago. It jived with a website I have not yet created because the creation of same (and the concept) keeps morphing. Ever had that happen? There is this amazing, wonderful concept that you know in your bones is going to resonate with others, help people.... and you just can't quite get it off the ground?

I find that this phenomenon always has to do with how I'm resonating (because everything is vibration) and how the others who chime in and indicate they want to collaborate resonate and some kind of dissonance there. Not that disosnance is 'bad' but in a loosely networked D.A.C., the resonant theme has to do just that. It has to vibrate in synch.

I watched the new account accumulate friends, more slowly than ever before, mostly because I hardly ever spent time on it. It just wasn't interesting. I do have some ..."opinions"... about how FB was founded and whether my participation or not in that platform matters at all. Leaving in silent protest? Who would notice? Logging in every couple of weeks because some random thing makes me remember to do that when I could be posting here, where we all at least attempt to leverage support and acknowledgment? Tough decision.

So why didn't I delete the account sooner? Months ago? I asked myself that this morning after I read the Medium article about the daily doing of something that scares us. Did it scare me to hit the delete button? Why would it? I've done it twice before and can't quite see...So I took that long deep look within.

Not FOMO as some may have surmised. I realized that it was one place, and not THE one place, just a semi-convenient and often toxic one place, where I could see photos of friends I hardly speak to. Where I could forward a brilliantly written piece that I thought would inspire others. Where I could post the occasional, "Hey, we're all in this together and the world has to change so hang in there!"

But there are other ways and means, are there not? And is that not what change is all about? So it was only the fear of losing touch with a few people whose email addresses I definitely have and maybe don't use often enough... wow. Great reason to procrastinate. So I found their silly little pop-up page.

This is how the little box they give you reads:

"If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added."

YAY!!!! Celebrations in many dimensions!!!!!!

As my dear departed Mum said to me just after she left her body... "Why didn't I do this a long time ago?"

The relief wave is worth surfing. Thanks for reading. xo

Sort:  

Wow and yes. I have been sitting with the same thing for the past 5 months as well. Reading this is another nudge forward. Crazy how some small reason can keep me tethered for so long. "Do something that scares you each day" Yep. Feeling warm and comfy in my safe zone. And now looking at it - quite hypocritical when I ask others to step out of there's. See ya Facebook!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76