Facebook & Crypto

in #facebook5 years ago

Apparently the first articles written about Facebook's venture into the world of crypto were a it off. Yes, it seems like it's happening a lot sooner than we thought, and even though some people believe that this is "the end" for the crypto fringe crew, I think it's actually going to help us all.



pcworld.com

What?


I will get some backlash for saying this, but truth is that it's unavoidable. We need legislative clarity in this space, and even though most people who got into crypto to begin with, did so to escape the government, we can't deny that the future will involve them.

Does this mean that I want government all over my stuff? Of course not, but to think that the space can operate outside of a legal framework forever is just wishful thinking and nothing more. Yes, peer to peer transactions will always continue, but unless a armageddonian level event happens, governments are not going anywhere anytime soon.

So why Facebook?


Because it brings it to the front page, because Facebook has enough power as to make the clarification of regulation a priority not only for the American government, which of course needs it desperately, but all over the world.

You see the SEC and it's equivalent agencies around the world are attempting to legislate using laws written before computers existed, and it's easy to imagine how that would be extremely inefficient.

I don't think it's a far stretch to imagine Facebook in cooperation with Gemini drafting ideas that could become the legal framework for this whole thing to gain mass adoption. To think that Zuckerberg and the twins are putting their differences aside, really sheds a light as to the level of importance here.

Does this mean I'm running back to Facebook? No, not necessarily, but my personal choice on this matter is not that relevant. That being said, to me these news are bullish, no matter how I look at them.

MenO

Sort:  

Personally, I foresee Facebook drafting legislation that narrowly allows their cryptocurrency, but not others. Call me a pessimist, but I simply don't trust them to have the interests of the public at heart. They're going to do what will give them an edge only for their product, and nobody else.

This is precisely what they have already tried to do by banning the entire crypto industry's ads while at the same time developing their own cryptocurrency. Its completely anti-competitive and illegal!
You can join the lawsuit against them for it at https://www.jpbliberty.com/class-member-signup

I deleted my Facebook account seven years ago. I regret none of it.

Seems to be old enemy are at on face off one more tine to see each other in new technology. ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent review @meno and I think that Facebook can help the promotion of crypto as a whole in the form of informativeness of the public!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15