Facebook? Crypto? Blockchain??? Ugh... Here We Go!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #facebook5 years ago

I am coming across more and more people who are excited that Fakebook are set to launch a blockchain and an associated cryptocurrency...


Source

They talk about it gushing about just how great it is and how they cannot wait, for anyone considering discussing this with me, or worse telling me how fabulous this will be for mass adoption of crypto... Let me save you a little time...

Don't bother! The thought of it makes me positively nauseous!

I have a couple of words to throw out, think of it as a word association game entitled words that remind me of cryptocurrency... Decentralized... Uncensored... Free from legislation and manipulation... Now let me think of these terms in comparison with Fakebook, there is only one expression that springs to mind...

None of the above!

What a bloody scam! How dare they? Absolutely how dare they???

Wow! It gets me so irate just thinking about it. Just how gullible do they think we are? Although, clearly, many are. For the longest time they monetised our content but not to share with the community, the creators... It was cashed in to buy Suckerberg another hideous tie for the next governmental grilling on shady practices and under-handed manipulation and espionage.

Oh and by the way, what the hell would they call their crypto?

Source

A. - Spycoin.

B. - Controlcoin.

C. - Bitcensor.

There will likely be repeated airdrops for those who vote the suggested way in the next elections or comment on ten vapid Kardashian posts.

This sickens me as it is quite literally the antithesis of what crypto is meant to be, this would represent the most bought and traded coin/token in the history of crypto and would likely find it's way into campaign trail funding, elector fraud and probably fund all manner of insidious, surreptitious and shady practices... Who knows it could finally be the one that informs the general public of just how volatile and dangerous this alternative economy is right now.

I have zero doubt it would have a huge, potential to make some money as the ((doubtless )) pump and dump cycles begin. This would be such an ironic development as a pre-cursor to proving that crypto-investing is dangerous to the average person.

###Ugh! I'm yawning!!!

Don't support such opportunistic scum trying to manipulate you into thinking that BTC has finally found a sparring partner and is ready to shake it down and replace it as a crypto of the people...

Yeah, right!!!

The trick to not falling for the doubtless upcoming scams designed to tap into the global zeitgeist of crypto is to stay alert, keep studying and to make yourself aware of al the new and upcoming developments in the space and always be wary of who is spearheading the team.

We've gotta learn to take care of ourselves, be more astute and look out for those magical propositions that seem far too good to be true.

You know the old saying, right? The probably are...


Source

Sort:  

I don’t see facebooks global coin as a real threat but an opportunity! It’s going to go a long way to normalizing the technology and increase adoption! Once people see more traditional companies using the tech many of them will look at other alternatives!

It’s easier to preach to the converted and right now we’re not conveying the message in normie talk

Posted using Partiko iOS

Unfortunately (I think) Fakebook's alt-coin or token might become the most sought after crypto-currency that we've seen yet, do to their HUGE user base.

Good to see you back @stevenwood ... I stop in to post here and there these days only.

After all this time I get a follow @stevenwood? LOL Shouldn't you be beasting right now? 😃

Posted using Partiko Messaging

How utterly bizarre I was writing a comment a post of yours at the same time as you wrote this!!! haha... Spooky synchronicities lol.

Good to see you in t'other realm lovely lady... I am hiding out from obligations elsewhere lol 😄

I feel like I'm never going to reach 70 rank but dammit I'm gonna try. I'm looking to get my first Monthly Author Badge too... and launch a baby beast end of June. It will be a 1 week event. Get off to work now! I'll not be blamed for your tardiness. 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Greetings @stevenwood,

So very true......appreciate reading your discourse regarding this development.

This sinister knowledge regarding MyFace, that is now coming to light has been rumoured for some time and yet the many stay.....I am beginning to think that even if they had known the fact of the matter......they would have happilly paid to be on MyFace.

We are all Narcissus.....given half a chance. hehe ^__^

Thank you for the opportunity to think on these things.

All the best to you and yours!

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63152.84
ETH 3104.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84