Facebook Plans to Become World’s Biggest Central Bank?

in #facebook5 years ago (edited)

Interesting article:
https://medium.com/@lancengym/facebook-plans-to-become-worlds-biggest-central-bank-7d99d967b73c

Facebook as your creditor will then know where you are, all the time. Plus, they will know your ID, biometrics, geolocation, networks, etc.
This would represent a new form of control.

I don't think this will happen because:
-It takes much time for people to test if Facebook offers enough security for money transfers. So they will start with little amounts.
-The Facebook Coin (FBC) will be a stable coin coupled with fiat. So because fiat will devalue due to inflationary printing and BTC won't, over a time span of some years, people will realize that BTC will outperform the FBC by a lot.

So, after some initial hype around the FBC which should not affect its price, some people will use it. This should legitimize digital coins accelerating the transition to the Bitcoin era. And, people will get accustomed to "blockchain" technology and this could be beneficial for the Steem Network. So, please, Facebook people, bring it on, and thanks a lot!

Sort:  

Interesting article! Facebook will show the people how blockchain works, perfect!! Thank you Facebook 😊

I think central corporations don’t get the word decentralized.

Your posts are truly a treasury of stimulating ideas!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks a lot for your comment!
Yes, corporations aren't interested in decentralization. As more and more customers are demanding decentralization, corporations will have to adjust. Hopefully...

I hope that won't happen. Facebook is the last organization to which I would give...anything. I gave it my name and some data while using its platform but I have deactivated my account for one year and a half and I simply can't stand this app anymore. I know I should delete the account but I don't want to enter the app again. I agree with you that if such thing will become a reality they will have way too much data of us. Important one I would say...not just pics and location.

Yes, I don't think that will happen but if the FBC can be easily exchanged with real crypto coins, that will be a net positive.
I deleted my Facebook profile a long time ago and haven't regretted it even once.

Hahaha

No way

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @zuerich! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98