Rest - the Song that Brings a Soul's Journey Home to Love

in #faith6 years ago (edited)

Finally, I have a bit of time writing again...

It has been an overwhelming journey since last week when I took on the challenge to be part of the D101 team of Bob Fitts for a memorable weekend praise and worship.

As those who have been reading my post many would have known the last 1 1/2 years has been nothing but tons of challenges but one by one, God pulled me through.

The last 11 years with the LORD has been nothing but colourful.

20180804-104713_800.jpg

This is especially when you get to learn so much from the renown yet humble missionary + song writer who rocks the world with the songs God inspired him to write.

I'll just skip the technical part on how we learn 15 songs of harmonizing until we narrow down the right few songs just enough to bring healing and restoration to congregations who just needed that bit of rest in Jesus...

...and come into my personal journey of assurance and love that God has given me that I would like to share with you through this magnificent weekend.

You see, last weekend was not just another awesome worship experience for me.

Rewind back to 2002, when I was first invited to attend a cell home-fellowship, my closest friend and someone I loved so much on this earth was deployed after 9/11; and during one of our conversations, as concerned as I was about his well-being, this was something he shared with me.

2 Corinthians 12:9 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Don't worry, God will take care of me...

right before his tour of duty started.

And that was the beginning of my own journey seeking this one God Who would take care of my bestie whom I love so much; and how I was redeemed by my Lord and my Saviour.

Fast forward 12 years has passed, I never could really express this verse, how much His Grace, Christ Jesus is efficient during the time of my journey in life overcoming one mountain after another; while my heart yearn after God to keep His promise as my bestie put his trust in that one verse...

Until last week when (uncle) Bob decided to pick this song for the congregation. A simple yet powerful lyric amplifying the scripture 2 Corinthians 12:9 and what Jesus has said:

"Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest." Matthew 11:28
And is written in this way:

I rest in Your love

My strength comes from You alone

Your grace in more than enough

You are the fountain for my thirsty soul

You are everything that I need

My all sufficient King

I rest, I rest

In your love

Source

This song didn't really hit me hard during practice until when I was just resting and letting the melody and the plucking of the acoustic guitar minister to my soul, suddenly I was brought back into my memory...

...when I stormed up to a (quite famous) chapel and made God promise that He'll look after my bestie because he's His child.

During that time, I was not even a Christian myself; but I could still vividly remember when I walked down the staircase back to the car after a good hard cry, the peace (that surpasses understanding) was just flowing in me.

From that memory, a still calm voice came to my heart:

Didn't I say I'll look after him?


At that very moment, both Friday and Saturday session, my heart was just melted and walls of fear (that kept trying to build up from time to time during times of adversities) just broke away into dust.

I hope this song and the YouTube of the song I share with you here brings you your personal encouragement and assurance for those who are seeking rest and truth, that you are loved and

... everything is going to be ok


If you have personally encountered your experience of such I do welcome you to share with me at the comments (or feel free to write about it and share the link here too).

I hope you have enjoyed reading and assured, as much as I have enjoyed preparing it.

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://littlenewthings.mywofs.com/ishare/index.php/2018/08/09/rest-the-song-that-brings-a-souls-journey-home-to-love/

Sort:  

Praise God that in Him, "everything is alright" is not just a phrase but a promise.

Amen to that @josephinegpy !
Thanks so much for stopping by

It's a very inspiring song that calm your soul. Keep it up.

Yes it is.

I like to call it anti-depressant songs lol.

(No need medication to deal with your stress)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94