I'M SCARED

in #faith6 years ago (edited)


I’m scared
Scared of my measure of faith, for I hear without faith, it's impossible to please God.
What if my faith isn't good enough and so I can't please him enough?

I’m scared
Scared of displeasing him, for I hear He's a consuming fire.
What if I get on his bad side and face this fiery wrath of God?

I’m scared
Scared of my old habit resurfacing, that's if they were ever dead.
What if I derail and never seem to find my way back?

I’m scared of losing my salvation, for without it all hopes of eternal life is lost.
I’m scared of sin, for I hear its wages is death.
I’m scared of hell, for I hear it burns for all eternity.

The law gave its requirements, one I most certainly can't keep.
I see my weaknesses bare before me and I weep in agony as I watch it gradually overwhelm me.
Driven by my thoughts of fear, I whispered to myself, "I miss the days when I lived in outright ignorance" or so I wanted to believe.
“at least I felt no fear then", I thought to myself.
This was my affliction, my burden, the totality of my thoughts, my identity and master.
Despite all this, somewhere within me I knew He couldn't have lay His life to get me strangled or entangled in fear's grip. In search of an answer I looked deeply into His word and quickly did I realize that I had it all wrong. It was all Satan’s carefully arranged condemnation & guilt speech, for God's word says, “…Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit, saith the LORD of hosts.”
“…My grace is sufficient for thee, for my strength is made perfect in weakness.”
And so, just as Jesus humbly requested, I lay down all my burdens & fears at His feet, and take up His yoke and burden for it is easy and light.
Therefore with faith slowly but gradually built and mind continually transformed, I live a love-filled life. No more sin conscious but Christ centered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51