How do you learn forgive when doing that hurts badly?

in #faith6 years ago


'Am very sorry she said to me. I know that what did is irreversible and can never be forgotten but please forgive me', she muttered sullenly. I could see the raw sincerity in her eyes... I remembered the pains she had caused me, the tears, the humiliation, the heartache.

I couldn't bring myself to say those healing words to her. All she needed was for me to tell her.. 'You're forgiven' and mean it. But I just couldn't bring myself to say it.

'Am sorry Lizzy, I can't I told her helplessly. I just can't..
'Please!' she said with desperation

How do you forgive someone that has caused you so much pains? Forgiveness in its sense is a virtue. I know it takes a lot to forgive and to forgive wholeheartedly. To forgive someone who has ripped your heart can be very tasking. But let's not forget that forgiveness is what we are meant to do, because we ourselves have been forgive.

Despite our wrong doings and transgressions. God still forgives. His hands are always open wide..beckoning on us. If only we'd be sober enough to run back to him, then he'd readily forgive us and make us while again.

So, why then should we not forgive our fellow humans. God has shown us the way by forgiving and he expects us to follow suit.

So, I stared at her and the image of Christ on the cross flashed through my mind. His nailed hands.. His wounds, his pains..

'I forgive you Lizzy'
It might take a while to forget but I forgive you wholeheartedly I told her with a wild smile.

'Thank you! Thank you so much' she said.
' You don't know how much this means to me' she muttered with tears in her eyes.

'I do'. I told her taking her in my arms and hugging her close.

I suddenly felt light. Like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders. I felt free.. I felt whole.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59