You Want to do WHAT?

in #family6 years ago (edited)

“Mom… Can you teach me how to knit?” said my sixteen-year old son.  

I love to knit. I would knit all the time if I could justify letting the dishes pile up in the kitchen, unwashed; the dirty clothes become Mount Washmore in the laundry room and the meals could be potato chips and dip everyday. It is my main passion. I try as much as possible to squeeze it into the nooks and crannies of my busy days. So, sharing this passion with one of my children would be one of my greatest joys. He is the last of six, and none of his older siblings have taken up the craft.

 Needless to say, I was quite surprised to hear this request coming from him. I have offered many times to teach him to knit if he wanted to learn. His usual answer came with a look that would suggest, “Are you crazy? What in the world for?” I am sure many parents have seen that look and know just what the answer is. “No… Duh!” 

So, what changed his attitude from “No… Duh!” to “Can you teach me how to knit?” Did he suddenly have a desire to share some special bonding time with his mother? I wish it were so. I am after all the mother of a teenager who is learning separation from parents, not seeking ways of bonding. 

It comes down to wanting to bring a gift with him when he goes to visit a friend. I should have known it is not my magnetic personality that changed his mind. Oh well… 

His best friend right now is Jose. Jose lives in California. We live in Alberta. Liam, my son, wants to bring a gift for his friend with him when he goes to visit this coming summer. And what did Liam offer as a gift? A toque. That is a knit hat for those who are not familiar with the term. 

Liam is learning to knit. And he is doing a great job. We will find out what color Jose wants and get going on this project as soon as we can. And I will be there, feeling secretly blessed to have such an amazing person as my son. He has decided to learn a completely new skill in order to bring a gift to a friend. That’s pretty awesome.  

Pretty good for a first attempt...

Sort:  

That is awesome. Yes this is some great bonding time with him. He is growing up so much. I am glad that he is working on a project like this, there is nothing more satisfying then making a gift for a friend. Way to go Liam!!

Thank you, Carey. He seems pretty excited about it. Once the correct size needles arrive, he can get started on the hat.

I hope they come in soon. He should have plenty of time to get them done though. See you soon.

I tried knitting. My results were not nearly as good as Liam's.

I am pretty impressed with his work. Thank you for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65