Welcome to the World - Giving Birth in Panama Part 3

in #family5 years ago

Giving birth in a foreign country is something I never planned to do. When I got pregnant here in Panama, we realized this would be a reality for us. I have given birth five other times, but every birth is different. Here is Part 3 of my birth experience at a private hospital in Panama.

If you are just now seeing these, be sure to check out my other posts about the baby's birth. Here is Part 1 and Part 2.



The doctor decides to time my uterine activity and says that if I don’t have 3-4 in 10 minutes that she wants to do something to get them going. While timing them, I have 4-5 very good contractions. By the end of that 10 minutes, I am ready to push. I push a few times during contractions and receive some coaching on how to do it more effectively - you would think that I could remember how to push since this is my 6th baby!! The foot stirrup gives out again. I’m told to push whenever I feel a strong contraction, but wait until the worst part of the contraction and push until the pain stops.

The nurse is trying to help me by making little raindrop motions on top of my belly. It is really annoying and the doctor finally realizes that I don’t like it and asks her to stop. Apparently it’s to stimulate my uterus. Every push, the nurse also does a football type tackle on my back, helping me to push myself up, while she also leans her forearm on the top of my belly to help push the baby down. I push this way a few times and I’m seriously done. Give me a c-section, epidural, whatever, but I am done.

The doctor then says that she thinks the baby will come in just one more big push. Okay, I can do that. Ben is supposed to catch the baby and cut the cord. I close my eyes and give one big push and then realize I have a lot of relief and there is a baby sitting on my stomach! Ben said he caught her and put her up to me! Then he got to cut the cord after a few minutes.

beaf260a-dd26-4bb6-a137-79f58e15b80b.JPG
First picture of the baby!

The baby was crying and gurgling on my chest and was covered in vernix and blood. She was a delightful pink color. My little Panamanian Chiricana was making her presence known!

IMG_8119.JPG

The pediatrician takes her for about 2 minutes to measure her and weigh her. We have already requested a list of items – like no bath, staying in the room with me at all times, etc. – and all of these items are followed. The pediatrician speaks English, but didn’t say much. She did ask me if I wanted any chips or anything from the pharmacy (while in labor).

IMG_8112.JPG

The doctor then takes care of me while Nana holds the baby. A few times, they pour freezing cold sterilized water on me to clean me off, and give me a good scrub with some rough towels.

All looks good, so it’s time to transport me to my recovery room. We hope to only stay a few hours, but we’re told we must stay overnight. Baby was born at 7:15pm.

IMG_8116.JPG
Yep, I was tired.

A gurney is brought in and I am asked to get on it. Another interesting move. Nana then carries the baby down the hall, Ben carries the bags, and I ride on the gurney to the elevator. We are taken to the recovery room 13B and asked if we want it to be private or semi-private (with a roommate). We choose private and have 2 beds to sleep on! They then want me to move from the gurney to the hospital bed again. They take my blood pressure and temperature and leave the room.

IMG_8122.JPG
Sweet crying baby.

We finally have some peace and quiet to tell Nana the baby’s name. Kalana LouAnn - We just liked the first name (which means "the heavens") and it's Hawaiian like mine. The middle name is a combination of both grandmother's middle names. Nana loves it.



Stay tuned for Part 4 to see what a night in this Panamanian hospital was really like!



I am a mom to six kids who lives in Panama. We relocated here about 2.5 years ago and love it. If you're interested in knowing more about Panama, check out the link below and plan to come on a Panama Relocation Tour!

Panama Relocation Tours

Sort:  

That sounds rather uncomfortable. It's always weird going to the hospital for any reason in another country, if you're not used to it. Funny, with the raindrop thing. For that matter, going to the hospital in any country can be. Glad the birth went more ore less ok!

It did go well, thankfully! Almost like a homebirth, but not quiet. Yeah thankfully this is our only experience with a hospital here in Panama. Hopefully our last. ;)

what a cutie - I had to stay for 4 days - that was custom in Belgium at that time :)

Oh wow! I think with my first we stayed 2 nights, maybe one night with the second, then we had three homebirths, and one night with this one. :) I just posted about that night in the hospital today! I'm glad it was only one night...which isn't normal for here.

OH you´re baby is cute... I like the sound of the first name. Congratulations!

Thanks! She's a sweetheart! :)

It is my firm belief that you never feel more like "a piece of meat" than in a hospital -- anywhere, for any reason. Everyone, including you, seems to lose all sense whatsoever of you as an individual human being.

I'm glad you were able to keep your sense of humor through all this.

Yes, it definitely is hard to enter a hospital and feel like you're the one in charge of yourself. They basically own you when you go in. That's why we've done homebirths in the past and wanted to do one this time. It just didn't work out! Hope you're doing well!!! :)

So beautiful, thank you for sharing this experience with us!

:) I'm just glad it was a good story!

Firstly congratulations on the new one so cute ;)

Sounds quite the experience

Thanks! She's such a sweet baby. Yes, it was definitely interesting... ;) Have a great day!

YOu to have a greta day

So beautiful! I missed 1 and 2 somehow....I'll be checking those out :) What a precious blessing, I'm so glad delivery went well. She's beautiful and I love her name!

Thanks! She's such a sweet girl and we just love having her around. :) I just posted the 4th part today as well.

woaaaaahhh what a story!! Birth in Panama must be an entirely different ballgame but you mastered it!

Congrats on madame Kalana LouAnn (love the name!) and good look getting back at full speed <3

:) Thanks! Yeah, it was an interesting time. I'm just glad it's over and we have a happy, healthy baby girl. :)

Congratulations on your beautiful little daughter, but what an ordeal in a strange country!
LOL, did you take up the offer of chips?

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol - I was in no mood for chips. It was such a strange offer! At that point, my labor had sort of stalled, so they were looking for something to do to entertain themselves I guess. Going to get chips was the answer. ;)

What a welcome into the world! So glad you are posting for us to see, @apanamamama.

It has been fun to relive it while posting. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62