What is the most unforgettable sentence that someone said to you?

in #family6 years ago

It was eight years ago on a Friday afternoon. I was sitting at my desk pretending to work and looking forward to the weekend when my Dad called.

“Sorry to bother you at work, but do you have a minute?”

“Sure, what’s up?”

“Well, I’ve been sitting here for the last twenty minutes debating whether or not I should call you while you’re at work.”

“It’s fine. I’m not busy. What’s going on?” My Dad can be a bit dramatic at times, but I was definitely curious at this point.

“Are you sitting down?”

“Dad, seriously what’s going on? You’re starting to scare me!”

“Are you alone?”

“DAD! Just tell me whatever it is! YES, I’m alone!” No one is ever really alone when you’re sitting in a cubicle but luckily a close friend was sitting on the other side so I wasn’t worried about anyone overhearing.

“I wasn’t sure if I should call you while you’re at work but I decided you would hate me if I didn’t do it as soon as possible.” Now I’m getting nervous and scared thinking he has cancer or something horrible has happened to someone in the family.

“ Do you remember my friend John, the lawyer?”

“Sort of. Why?”

“He’s the one who handled the adoption.”

“Right, ok.”

“Well, I just got a phone call from him. Are you sure you’re sitting down?”

“DAD, YES!”

“Your daughter is alive and well, her name is Katie and she wants to meet you.” Now I understood why he asked if I was sitting down…twice!

We sat in silence for a minute or so. I think he understood it was going to take a minute for it to sink in. And then I got scared again.

“Is she ok?” She had just turned 18 a few months prior, so my first thoughts were a bit negative unfortunately. Did she have a horrible childhood? Why would she be looking for me so soon? Is she sick? Does she need a kidney?

“She’s fine, I promise. I asked all the same questions. She just feels like she’s ready to meet you. The reason I called you at work is because John is getting ready to leave for the weekend and she is asking for your phone number. So can I give it to him? Otherwise you’ll have to wait until next week.”

“YES!”

“I knew you would want me to, but John said I had to talk to you first. I’m going to hang up and call him right back.”

Katie didn’t call until SUNDAY! It was one of the most nerve racking weekends of my life, but it was worth it. I still tease her sometimes about waiting so long. So here we are, eight years later. She is happy, healthy, and her adoptive parents are amazing people. Katie and I spend time together whenever we can. There have been some ups and downs over the years, but I’m so grateful to have the opportunity to watch her grow and mature into the lovely woman she is becoming and I’m looking forward to being a part of her upcoming wedding in October. Definitely the most unforgettable and life changing sentence for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61390.40
ETH 2913.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64