Boys Will Be Boys

in #family5 years ago

My son has taken a liking to climbing trees, even though he hasn't mastered the courage to climb down.

I wrote a post some time ago showing pics of him in the tree and my husband getting the ladder so he could get down.

Yesterday was a different story.

My husband took that picture. He sent it to me while my son and I were at the hospital in emerge, waiting to be seen.

So that is where it all began. My husband walked in the door telling my to go see Aaden in the backyard. I went in the sun room to have a look and all I see is my son dangling in tree, holding on for his dear life.

I then saw Danny (my husband) run out of the garage with a ladder and then wiping out because of the deep snow. He gets up, makes it to the tree and fights against the branches to land the ladder against it. I watched him trying to climb it, but as he climbed the ladder sank in the snow.

Danny got to the top and as he was reaching for Aaden, Aaden's grip loosens and starts to fall. And so did my stomach.

The boy must be top heavy as his body started turning into the diving position. It was like in the movies, all slow motion. Feeling like if I was fast enough I could have ran outside and caught him.
As he was reaching the bottom, his body turned enough for his head to hit the bottom of the ladder. It took me only seconds to process what had happened.

I turned around, running for the door. I was swearing in french as I tried to calm myself. "Tabarnak, tabarnak, tabarnak!"

I didn't register that Frankie was also with me, witnessing Aadens fall. Her too she ran behind me, her little 3 yr old voice shouting out "Tabanac, tabanac, tabanac!"

I was searching in my mind for what to do, and realized what she just said..."uh... no, Frankie don't say that. Um... screw the coat".
I jumped into Danny's boots and ran outside without a coat on. I didn't know if he knew Aaden hit his head. He was carrying Aaden in his arms and I was trying to tell him he hit his head and couldn't figure out why Danny was moving so slow.

Here I was acting like a crazed person just trying to get a look at his head. Danny wasn't even talking to me.

We got him inside and I tried to ignore the panic and cry from Aaden to keep a cool head. We got his coat, snow pants and boots off. But here was the real test. His hat.

As I pulled his hat off gently, I noticed blood all over his forehead. I looked at my husband and notioned him to not say a word about it as to not create more panic for the poor boy.

Then my girls come out, Emma... "Oh my God, Aaden"

"Sush, Emma, just go in the living..."

"Aaden you got some blo-"

"Emma don't say anything just go."

"Aaden can I see?"

"Emma! Go in the living room for a little bit while I have a look at him ok. Just don't say anything."

I grabbed a washcloth to wipe him clean but my husband grabbed it out of my hands and pressed it on his head and kept it there.

The stress was starting to leave me but it never left Danny. I was able to have a look at his other body parts to make sure there weren't any broken bones or cuts. Everything was good by the looks.

I tried again to look at his head. I wasn't able to see. The kid has such thick hair and there was so much blood. We thought it was best to take him to the hospital.

We were there for several hours in waiting at the emergency waiting room. It was long. We watched cartoons on the tv, talked with other people waiting, and even played I Spy With My Little Eye. I was surprised other people joined in. Not kids, but adults lol. It was pretty cool when we look up from our phones.

And we rested. I didn't let him sleep just incase, but it was nice to just lay there.

Then all of a sudden, Aaden just jumped up, "Mom, I'm bleeding again."

He actually bled like this 2 times while waiting, so I thought it wasn't that bad but might still need a stitch. I cleaned him up as I could, he finally let me.

It was hard to take the picture as I separated his hair and tried to focus the shot. The blood started pooling up again, so I couldn't get a clear picture of the wound.

After 5+ hours of waiting, we were finally called in to see the doctor. She had a look and yep he needed a stitch. A single one.

I wanted to get a pic of them working on his head but my phone died at this point.

I held his hand tight, I think I held it tighter than him. He was brave and took it like a champ!

"Mom, I'm never climbing trees again."

" I hope not, my boy"

But, that's what he said last time too. Although last time he never fell out of it.

I was able to take a picture of his stitch this morning.

As I looked for his stitch I noticed another spot that could have used a stitch. He has such thick hair and the blood from yesterday hid it from the doctor and I. But it has healed so it wasn't as bad I guess.

Today his head hurts and we are trying to keep him calm by letting him watch some tv and play xbox. It doesn't last, he is a boy after all.

Will he learn his lesson? Who knows. Do all boys learn their lessons? LOL

Foxyspirit.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

That's a really tall tree that he climbed. I was getting stressed out just reading thru your ordeal. I am glad that he is ok. My youngest is also a boy, he is a teenager now but also been thru a lot situations like this. Yes they do learn and the pain is a learning experience for my son.

It would seem that our boys are daring lol. Does your son still try out some painful stunts at his age? I'm feeling like I have quite a few years of having to be the mommy doctor in this manner lol.

As he aged he learned how to listen and life was much less stressful. Most of the time accidents happen when he doesn't listen to my warnings. I still recall those times from having a small pellet stuck up his nose, bitten by our dog, burned on the lip with a heated fork. Those times were crazy but things will change eventually.

Oh my, thankfully he only needed one stitch and the injuries were not worse! Most likely if he had just fallen into the snow he would have been okay seeing as he turned mid-flight and was not about to land directly on his head.

The stress of being a parent!

I met you today on Discord and you are one of my days picks... thank you and hello, nice to meet you! 😊

Thank you for picking me ^_^

His injuries could have been worse actually if he would have fell feet first. It rained a few days ago and became hard ice crusted over the snow. Could have broken his legs. But we are also lucky there wasn't more damage to his head. Kids are truly made of rubber it would seem.

Definitely stressful!

Yikes... yes, hard crusty snow, the damage could have been bad... thank goodness for thick winter clothing in any event!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by foxyspirit (typo queen) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59