Live action: Dementia and my dad

in #family5 years ago

Some of you may recall that my dad lives in a nursing home; It's not far from where I live. I've just finished a visit with him. I'll be honest with you, it's not the most pleasant thing to do, not because I don't like my dad, more because he doesn't really seem like my dad. Not these days anyway.

Dad's 83 years old soon and has been suffering with dementia for several years. He has trouble remembering things, me included at times, and that's difficult to process sometimes. I always leave here feeling grumpy although I dutifully visit each week and make the most of whatever that visit offers on each occasion.

Today he seemed ok, recalled who my wife and I are and was able to hold a basic conversation reasonably well all things considered. My wife, a hair dresser, cut and styled his hair today which is always interesting. My dad has always presented himself immaculately and has been proud of that so we make an endeavour to ensure that continues. Buying my dad's clothing is a little odd though...I recall him doing that for me not so long ago...Ok, 45 years ago!

As I type this he his having his hair cut and my wife Faith is reminding him of the names of his children, my brother's and sister, their spouses and his grandchildren of which he has three. He forgets. We could come back in a hour and have the same conversation all over again. Some days are worse than others, today is a seven out of ten day.

Anyway, I guess I always come away from these visits thinking about how precious life is, how important it is to say the things you feel to people you value. I'll never hear my dad say he is proud of me, and he'll never be able to give me advice, chastise me or simply converse with me on anything but a superficial level and that makes me a little sad. Still, it hammers home the need to say those things, have those conversations with those people we value now because tomorrow we may not be able to.

Sorry, this post is a bit depressing but the takeaway is to recall the importance of living the moment and valuing the relationships you have around you I guess. Life is too short not to call your mum, tell your wife you love her, thank someone, be polite and courteous, humble and kind.

Have a good day all.

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yes life slips away so fast we need to make the most of that time we have.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

🤗❤️

I see things the same way - life's too short. I'm hounded by the idea that I might not get another chance. And I know it doesn't make sense. I'm an emotional person and my loved ones know I care, if I say one more time, it won't make much of a difference...but still.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know what you mean. I am very emotional by nature too, and I definitely say I love you more often than necessary, but it eases my mind about any future regrets.

Exactly. I have a thing...My wife and I never go to sleep angry with one another...Always say I love you when we part...Even for just a day when I go to work or whatever. It works for us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can't say that stuff enough I think. Not only does it make you feel good to do so, it makes the other feel good too. Keep saying it..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

When you post stuff like this it lets you know you're not alone :)

Ahh the repeat conversations. I have them every time I go visit my grandmother. Glad it was a good day today :)

Yeah, I don't post about it for pity, just makes me feel a bit better to do so.

In real life I'm not one who likes to repeat himself so it's an exercise in patience for me to. Have the same conversation each week. Oh well, I'm sure my dad put up with much worse from me when I was growing up.

Posted using Partiko Android

We often forget to be grateful for the chance to spend time with them amd care for the them. When that time comes, we often find out too late that we did not savor the moments enough!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Exactly, which is why I always make the effort. Regret is a terrible thing and an emotion I work tirelessly to eliminate from my life to the best of my ability.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can you sing? If your dad liked some songs or church hymns in his youth, he might remember them now better than what is currently going on around him. This might cheer him and you up a bit.

I can't sing, don't want to torture him with my caterwauling. He sings though and they bring people into the nursing home for entertainment purposes and my dad likes that a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

I see. That's nice they do that! In the US our university organ studio went to the nursing home and gave them a concert. It was quite an experience for all of us.

My dad loves the interaction, I think all the residents do. As a kid I used to go and play the organ at a local nursing home myself. It was good practice to play in front of people for the events I'd compete at. Played a little piano for them too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.435 which ranks you at #2123 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2126).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 144 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 7.21% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69