The elusive Smallsteposaurus and dinofingerpuppetosaurus's

in #family5 years ago

I've been a little sad lately; Something, someone I should say, has been absent from my life and I miss her very much - I need some hugs. Not having regular contact with her leaves me feeling like I'm missing out. We all know how fast kids grow up and how much we need to cherish their formative years. So, I've been missing this particular little girl greatly and am looking forward to seeing her again on Saturday.

If you're not a regular reader skimmer of my blog, the person I'm talking about is my niece @smallsteps. She's the daughter of my brother @tarazkp and his wife @momone and she lives in Finland, a long way from where I do, here in Australia.

My brother and his wife have been busy with life lately; Work keeps my brother flying all over the place and my sister in-law has a full-time corporate job also which, naturally, brings time and logistical pressures as far as their little one goes. It means they get very little time to simply be a relaxed family unit and when the weekend rolls around video calls with uncle, even an Aussie super-uncle like me take a back seat to their lives. I get it.

Still, I miss my time with small and it affects my mood. We have a video call planned for this Saturday evening though, (morning their time) and I'm really looking forward to that.

She's a little ripper, is smallsteps - I know I'm biased but she's a clever, funny, thoughtful, polite, mischievous and a damned snuggly-cuddly little thing with the cutest little smile, and when she laughs...Well, it always cracks me up too. Cheeky little bugger she is. Recently a few Finland steem-peeps met her at a steem meet-up and I suspect small stole the show like she stole my heart the first minute I met her.

Smallsteposaurus
You may be wondering why I call her this...Well, I don't really. I use her name, which is a beautiful little thing - Much like her, or any number of cute little names I have for her also. But, she loves dinosaurs and so I used it for this post, just for fun.

She, really LOVES dinosaurs and because of this my wife and I spend much of our time sourcing dinothingosaurs stuff to send her. Of course she loves unicorns too, but she's a bit of a freak for dinos and so we send loads of dinothingosaurs stuff like clothes, toys and books - She loves dinobookosaurus's.

A few weeks ago Faith and I were in the Barossa Valley for a day trip and happened across a little gift shop that contained these dinofingerpuppetosaurus's - Dinosaur finger puppets. We knew she'd love them and so snaffled them up for the low price of $20! I spent $60 sending them in the mail (I know right?) and by now they should be almost in Finland. You can see my wife Faith modelling them in this image.

I'm looking forward to the video call we'll get once she has received them but the recorded unboxing video my brother will also send is great value too. She is so funny and excited during the unboxing phase and it's entertaining, and heartbreaking to watch at the same time. Heartbreaking because I wish I was there.

We're planning a trip to Finland for 2020 which will make it two years since we were last there. She was 2 that last time and will be almost 4 when we get to see her in person again, a real little lady. I know she'll remember me (from all the video calls) but I'm a little worried she might act different with me, not like me as much. I know, it's probably a dumb thought but this little dinosaur girl means so much to me that I will be shattered if she acts differently. I guess I should lower my expectation though huh?

For a childless couple who love children like Faith and I having smallsteps in our lives is a blessing. She is the future recipient of the sum and total of our lives when we are gone and whilst it's very difficult being so far away it means those times we spend, in person, or on a video call mean so much more.

[Sigh]...Anyway, I was feeling a bit sad so thought writing about my little Smallsteposaurus would make me feel a bit better and I guess it has. There's only a day to go before we'll chat so I think I can hang out that long.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺
@curangel curator

Sort:  

I'm not sure if this is gonna help you or hurt you but here is a shot from last Saturday.

littleA.jpg

littleAcol.jpg

Dem cheeks huh? 😂💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Too cute! Definitely stole all our hearts.

She does that.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I think my parents feel similarly about my kids (their only grandkids) but back when they were tiny video calls were really hard to do (stupidly restrictive quotas and their appalling bandwidth and my not great lines). Least we see each other every year? 😵

She will act different because she will be a whole 2 years older, that’s twice as old as when you last saw her and the physical and mental differences can be pretty insane even in that short time. She will love you just as much though 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

She will love you just as much though

I think she will too - I'm adorable. :)

There is something really irresistible about them. My daughter is about the same age, and I find myself saying things in jest like "stop being so cute," and then she gives me a coy smile. I'm sure this is a mistake - now she knows she has me wrapped around her little teeny tiny finger, but I suppose I am okay with that.

As a parent there is always this burden of guilt when the kids see a relative that is really glad to see them after a long time, and the children are too uncomfortable to be affectionate. The blockage always dissolves within a day though, and I'm sure if it happens to you, it will dissolve quickly also.

Yeah, I'll deploy one of my hugs @ginnyannette and all will be well. Not sure if you're aware, but I'm the best hugger on the planet. Seriously.

Oh, did you have a read of my swimming pool post from yesterday?

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not know about the hugs, but I believe you.
I just read the story. On nights that I write I usually just drop some votes because I do not have time to read/comment and write. Which is part of why I do not usually write every day. If I do both in one night I get less than 6 hours of sleep.

It is a great story that makes the reader do a bit of a cringe throughout in anticipation. I hope those teeth got fixed soon after so they were not worn like a scarlet letter, poor kid.

My teeth got fixed a day or so later and it was onwards to the next self-created disaster.

The hugs...True story. Best hugger ever.

They made a TV show about me. So you think you can hug? They called it. Or maybe it was Hugging with the stars. Umm, NCIS Hug. Anyway, I was the star and I had to hug people...It wasn't a very exciting show...🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh dear, no second season? I guess making people happy isn't enough drama for a second season.

True...They tried to sign me up but my hugs don't come cheap.

Posted using Partiko Android

That niece of yours is one lucky little lady then. She had best stock up when she gets the chance.

She pays me in kisses and giggles. She gets plenty of hugs.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84