And now for something completely different

in #family5 years ago (edited)

I don't normally get very personal in my posts. I try to keep it about the farm stuff. Fun and light (for the most part) and not too heavy. Today, though, I felt moved to get a little personal.

I was adopted when I was three days old. My parents had tried to have a baby and had suffered through several miscarriages, as well as several failed adoptions. My mother is one of the few people I have ever known who was absolutely put on this earth to raise children, so when they couldn't have any biologically, they adopted. Here's a picture of my mom holding me on the way home from the hospital. Keep in mind this was in the seventies, so car seats weren't a thing yet.

IMG_20190508_153012785.jpg

My mom has told me a million times how her face hurt for the first three months after they brought me home. She finally figured out it was because she was smiling all the time, so big that it made her jaws ache.

I had the usual adopted kid angst growing up; it is unavoidable. Where did I come from, why didn't my birth mother want me, etc. That angst was always in the background, though. It wasn't my story, just a subplot. My parents made me feel loved and wanted from the first minute they saw me, and that hasn't changed even though I am now in (ahem) middle age.

IMG_20190508_153124152.jpg

Since they had struggled through so many near-child experiences before they got me, they didn't tell my grandparents that they were trying again until they actually had physical custody of me. My mom is the oldest of nine kids, my dad is an only child, so his parents were particularly excited about having grandchildren. Here's the look on my Grandma's face when they showed up with me. No warning whatsoever.

IMG_20190508_152355887.jpg

There was a lawyer who helped with the paperwork on my adoption. We moved all over the country when I was growing up, but my parents moved back home twenty years ago to take care of my grandparents as they were aging. It turns out the lawyer still lives there and is still practicing! Here's a picture of him holding me not long after I was adopted.

IMG_20190508_153146010.jpg

My parents went on to adopt three more children, of several different races. When we all get together it looks like the model UN.

IMG_20190508_163846466.jpg

My younger sister has gotten herself in a bit of legal trouble. She has to appear in court at the end of the month, and the court was telling her she couldn't get a public defender until after her initial appearance. I thought that was a bad idea, and it didn't seem legal to make her appear without a lawyer when she can't afford one. Then she texted me and said our dad had found her a lawyer. I knew instantly who she meant. My dad isn't the kind of guy who knows a lot of lawyers. To my knowledge he knows two, and one is a relative who they wouldn't ask for help except maybe in a death row sort of situation. So this lawyer who helped my parents become parents, sat down with my sister and counseled her. He is in his eighties now, but was still willing to sit down with my sister (pro bono) and give her what help he could. I am not sure why this has moved me so deeply, except that I am so grateful to have been raised by my wonderful parents that I feel somehow connected and indebted to this man who I have never met who helped to make it possible. And now he is helping once again.

IMG_20190508_163852077.jpg

So that's my origin story, I guess! Like I said, I don't know why I am feeling so moved by this man's act of kindness, except that the picture of him holding me is in my baby book, so I have always known about him, but as a sort of mythical creature. He is very real, and obviously still very kind. I hope I haven't drowned everyone in saccharine, but this was the post I needed to make today. It should be obvious that I didn't take any of the photos in this post! Credit goes to my dad. For a lot more than just the photos! I apologize for the iffy quality of the pictures, but that's because they're vintage. Not too old a vintage, to be clear.

IMG_20190508_163917513.jpg

Be well, everyone, and go hug a mom! Even if it's not your mom!

Sort:  

Now I know a little bit more about you. Thank you for sharing your beautiful story.

I hope your sister's brush with the law is not a serious one.

Thank you. I hope she will be okay too. It's not too serious, but she doesn't always make the best choices.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a wonderful story! I am so glad you felt moved to tell it!

Thanks for sharing your personal story with us! I felt the emotions while reading :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much. I was pretty teary by the end of it. I'm surprised that came through in the writing!

What a lovely tale. I'm glad things worked out so well for you.
Lovely photos too - no apology necessary.

Thank you! The black and white ones definitely aged better!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nothing better to know someone loves you... :-)

So true. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so glad you grew in a home with parents that loves you!!! I can feel the love in every single one of those pics, you mom looks so happy and lovely in all of them!

Thank you! She's still happy and still raising kids! I don't know how she does it. She has more patience in one day than I have in an average month!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats such an awesome story. Sometimes older people amaze me in what they can do. It's so neat your parents lawyer friend is still working in his 80s and could help your sister. Too often I read adoption stories that aren't so happy. I'm happy readying your story and seeing you got such a great family.

I totally hit the parent jackpot! I've heard the sad stories too. It makes me extra grateful.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

What a wonderful story of origin you have! I hope that lovely lawyer gets to see it, too.

Thank you! That's a great idea. I will get my parents to send him the link.

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet he will love to see that wonderful photo where he is holding you.

I'm sure he will! He probably doesn't remember that it was ever taken!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01