Life Lessons from a Geek: A Horror Writer Takes a Stab at a Coming of Age Story and Teaches About True Friendship(Part 1)

in #family7 years ago (edited)

I was 12 going on 13 the first time I saw a dead human being. It happened in the summer of 1959... a long time ago, but only if you measure in terms of years.

Wait. That's not my life. I wasn't even born in 1959. I was born 12 years later (gosh am I old!).

Those are the opening lines from the movie based on Stephen King's novella The Body.

Perhaps you recognize this other delightful romp by Stephen King...



But back to The Body.

Most people know it as...

Stand By Me


Stand By Me is one of the best and most influential movies I have ever or will ever see. I hope to pass the love of this movie on to my 12 year old son... when he is ready.



This may be the most perfectly cast group of teens and pre-teens ever assembled.

Last week, @richq11 wrote a post about the education system. He ended it with the following:

Note: @giantbear suggested I write a children's story... the wisdom of asking that of a writer of horror/political conspiracy stories- who never had a childhood himself, may be questionable... But like anything else- I'll give it a try once!

Before I even finished reading that paragraph, the spark was already lit for me to write a piece I have been kicking around in my head for a long time.

How could an author known for his mastery of the horror genre write a coming of age story centered around realistic foul mouthed pre-teens? I have no f-ing idea. But I am so glad Stephen King did.

My friends and I first saw Stand By Me when we were 15 years old. It tells the story of four 12 year old boys who set out on a journey to gain local fame by finding, and reporting the location of a dead teenager who had been killed by a moving train 20 or 30 miles outside of their town. The timing of when my pals and I watched it could not have been more perfect. I had been friends with this group for several years. Therefore, we had gone through a similar (although far less dramatic) transition from childhood to adolescence together as the characters in the film had. Seeing these characters navigate the same journey just felt so right at the time. Somehow, it still does. King and director Rob Reiner included the perfect mix of drama, humor and emotion to truly capture the essence of this transformation.



Swap the 50's garb for some tight shorts with white trim and knee high socks with three stripes and this could have been my friends and I.

I may have learned more from this movie than anything else during my childhood and adolescence. Some day, I plan to share this with my son Timmy.

Stand By Me taught me how to be a big brother. It also taught me how not to be a father or a teacher. Most importantly, it taught me how to be a true friend.

Stand By Me is rated "R"... and for good reason. There are almost as many "F-bombs" dropped as my friends and I used when we were 12. The kids smoke, gamble and use guns. They lie to their parents and put themselves in dangerous situations. In other words, they act like 12 year olds in a fairy tale written by another 12 year old.

That is what this movie is: a dark, old-school, Grimm fairy tale created for guys looking back on their youth. Although the emotion and lessons are very real, the details are not. The hunt for the body, gun play, and swearing are all insignificant compared to the lessons taught. Those incidentals are merely a vehicle meant to grab and hold the attention of testosterone filled man-children (like me). And it worked.



It seems that every good fairy tale needs a forest... and leeches... lots of leeches!

Thank goodness it did. Because if you can get past all of that, there are some essential lessons to be learned from this beautiful story.

I'm still not sure how I will judge when my son is ready to see this movie (he can't stand swearing). However, one thing is for sure. If my son ever walks up to me and asks, "What does it mean to be a Friend?". I won't answer. I will sit down on the couch and pop in Stand By Me. While we watch I will stop at every teachable moment... and there are many.

For many who are familiar with the film, they may immediately think I mean the scene where Gordy bravely and boldly defends his friend by pointing a pistol at a gang of older teenagers while saying, "Suck my fat one, you cheap dimestore hood." But that is simply fairytale nonsense. Although that is a really cool scene, it will never happen in my or my son's life (I hope).

No. That scene won't help. It will entertain, but it won't teach my son anything. Perhaps I can stretch it and say that it shows friends stand up for each other... but I don't think my son needs to prepare for a life or death standoff. What he does need to prepare for is standing by his friends and relying on them to stand by him.



This is actually the film's least powerful example of friends standing by each other... but I still dug it when I was 15.

If my son can find a friend or be a friend like either Chris Chambers (played by River Phoenix) or Gordy Lachance (played by Will Wheaton), then I will have confidence he will be just fine.

Chris Chambers is one of my top 10 favorite characters of all time. He comes from a horrible home filled with anger and abuse. Instead of joining or leading a gang like his older brother, he supports and takes care of his group of friends. He is strong, brave, wise and very caring. I hope my own son shares some of these qualities (actually, he already does).

Although the best examples of true friendship occur between Chris and Gordy, the former illustrates this essential concept in his interactions with other characters as well.

For example, Chris helps Teddy (played by Corey Feldman) on two different occasions. First, he knocks Teddy off the tracks when he is trying to dodge an oncoming train. Sometimes friends need a "designated thinker". Because Teddy wasn't thinking, Chris had to do it for him. That is what friends do.



Sometimes friends act like idiots and you need to save them from themselves.

Next, the group encounter a nasty junk yard owner named Milo. Milo insults Teddy and his father who is in a mental hospital (presumably for suffering from PTSD from WWII). Teddy attempts to attack the man who was gigantic compared to them. Of course, Chris is the one to save him from the terrible mistake. Teddy begins to weep as the boys drag him away from the scene. As Teddy cries, Chris hugs and consoles him while reminding his friend that his father was a true hero who stormed the beach at Normandy. Chris was there to make his friend feel better. That is what friends do.



Friends protect each other... even if it is from themselves.

If those were the only examples of true friendship in this film, I would still love it. However, those are only the cowcatcher of this rumbling freight train. In the second part of this piece, which I will post later this week, I will explore the most powerful examples of what it means to be a friend.

Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

Sort:  

Great insights!

I read 'The Body' in the anthology 'Four Seasons' (I'm going from memory here, so please forgive any errors).

The anthology was four tales encompassing the seasons. Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter (obviously).

Two stories from that book stuck with me - The Body (Fall from Innocence) and 'Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption' (Hope Springs eternal).

OH yeah! That is exactly how I read this when I was much younger. That book Different Seasons was brilliant! When my son is MUCH older, we will be watching Shawshank together. I will give him the Different Seasons book long before that though. Thanks for reminding me.

I just posted the second part of this one if you are interested.

That's it! Different Seasons! (I told you I was going from memory LOL)

Yep! Interested and on my way now. Thanks for the heads-up.

Stand By Me.. the cruel irony being that the story's main protagonist didn't live beyond his teenage years. I too remember this film as one of those buddy movies that really spoke to me aged 15. I watched it recently with my wife and what I'd forgotten was how mean, dangerous & seriously intimidating the older boys were. Whenever I see River Phoenix I always feel sad, that almost like a friend I never had I miss his presence (even if it's just in the movies). I think if River had been alive today, he would have been up there with the greats. Corey Feldam is, he's a great character from that era. I saw him on a TV quiz show. He seemed really whacky these days with just a touch of the Charlie Sheen's about him !

I watched it again this past weekend and think River Phoenix in this and Natalie Portman in the Professional are the two greatest performances I have ever seen by a kid in a movie.

Agreed.. Although I recently watched What's eating Gilbert Grape. A very capable and young Johnny Depp carrying the weight of the world on his shoulders and Juliette Lewis as his brilliantly & suitably stoic counterpart.

Arnie Grape

But for me, a young Leonardo Di Caprio stole the story with a heartbreakingly beautiful performance and one that haunted my teenage years as the ladder climbing Arnie

Kids have a lot of wisdom dancing around in their brains. When asked about what makes a best friend, they defined friendship in ways that make sense — no matter what your age. Learn from kids about how to be a good friend.

I'm not sure how I missed this movie, but it goes straight to my watch list. thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Totally triggered by the Cujo image...no SK fan can forget that dog...otherwise, excellent post!

All these years I have missed seeing this movie and now, after reading your post, it is #1 on my list to watch. Thanks for a great post!

I haven't seen this movie yet and honestly, I haven't heard the name. Stand by me!! From the name and from your article, it is clearly movie to watch regarding true friendship. I will try to watch it.
By the way, hoping that your plan to teach your son with this movie will pan out.

I've never seen this movie (though I intend to, now) but I was struck by the conversation regarding the state of education today and @giantbear suggesting someone write a children's story... this is exactly what I decided to sit down and do when my oldest son was eight years old. He came home from school one day and shared a situation from his playground world and it was clear to me he didn't understand his friends' (or his own) incentives to act/behave in certain ways. So I wrote a series of stories and compiled them into a book on microecnomics. It doesn't talk about supply/demand graphs (well, actually it does) but it talks more about why people share, why people shouldn't overeat, and why people save money. Children's stories are, I think, one of the best forms of education.

That sounds amazing! Have you published anything from them on the platform? @steemiteducation would love to support these types of posts.

I do post pieces trying to explain econ in ways a kid could understand. And I chatted with @giantbear a few weeks ago about offering my book Cost Benefit Jr. up as a potential prize for education contests. I'm not up to speed on @steemiteducation, but I'm off to check that out now!

I enjoyed very much reading your post.keep it up bro.

funny blog thanks for your blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82