When You’re The Mom, Trips Take On A Whole New Meaning

in #family6 years ago

Moments like these

I’m kneeling in front of our suitcase, mentally walking through the outfits I’ve packed and the days we’ll be gone. I shift to the girls’ clothes, diapers, toys, snacks ... Suddenly, I’m aware that two little people are completely dependent on me for this trip.

It’s happened at odd times before and will probably happen many more. That realization that I’m the mom now. And all the responsibilities that go along with that three-letter title fall on me. Not that anything has changed since yesterday, but the awareness of it sobers me and excites me at the same time.

Always prepared

Perhaps it’s because my mom was great at planning our trips. She had different checklists depending on the length of the trip and as kids, we would help gather the items on the list. Three t-shirts, two pairs of pants, books to read ... and until I was going on trips by myself, I don’t think I ever worried that I wouldn’t have what I needed.

Now that responsibility falls to me. I have a family that’s counting on me to anticipate their needs and meet them while we’re away from home and our usual routines. I’m used to packing for Matt. So apart from trying to fit his size 13 shoes into the bag we’re sharing, that isn’t too challenging. But packing for twins who have different interests since the last time we traveled is still taking some getting used to.

See you when we get back!

We head out this morning. Breakfast is baking in the oven and soon Matt will leave to pick up our rental car. Since it’s dark out, I thought I’d make a quick post before the girls need to be up.

No WiFi where we’ll be staying but I’m sure there will be lots to share!

Let’s hope I remembered everything! 😉

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/helenoftroy-when-youre-the-mom-trips-take-on-a-whole-new-meaning-z97hq3xg-1539125579998.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Aaawww. Where are you guys headed?? Great to see you guys going somewhere. I'm sure you are all having a great time. Would love to hear about your trip when you get back! Kisses to the girls!

Hope you have a wonderful trip!

Don't worry you probably did forget something or another. but you still had a great trip(I hope).

I don't know if we have ever taken a trip without forgetting at least one thing. Especially when kids are involved!

Have fun!
Thx

I bet you are still on your trip. We all hope you are having a great time and we look forward to hearing about it!

All the best,
Peace!!!

@emaferice is also the one that packs @helenoftroy but I try to help and double check the packing list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85