how I lost my family for almost 30 years now

in #family6 years ago

We were raised without our mother... Jessie. and Soon after, we were raised with out our Father who ended up in prison, After he got out we rebuilt a relationship with him and hes never looked or turned back to that time in his life. I'm so proud of him and he worked very hard.

my mother and father
27889_10151355681452152_236682845_n.jpg
my mother, Great grandma, and father
156168_10151355722917152_317049420_n.jpg

during his imprisonment, Me and my brother lived together temporarily with a guardian and then we were separated into two different non relative family's that we grew up with...

Anyways Just from that little bit, you can see we had a pretty rough start and it didn't end there.

My brother as a baby

316032_10150445298912152_1104465337_n.jpg

me as a baby

297954_10150445306422152_613892624_n.jpg

while I was growing up I was told about my mother and that she gave me up because she was a un fit mother. I was finally told I had a older brother. no one knew anything else... Everyone never really talked about Jessie or me having an older brother much. unfortunately Jessie a drug user and caused a lot of problems. some of them I do remember, they were very traumatizing.

Me, my father and my brother just before dad ended up in prison.

309597_10150445305337152_1716608434_n.jpg

My teen years hit and that was it! I was on the search and I just never found anything on her. she was a ghost. by 20 years old I found some information on the Florida corrections facility that she did time there and then shortly after being released she absconded from her Parole. It was yet another dead end....

my mother in 2006 (mugshot)
Jessie.jpg

all I wanted to do was find out a half of me that's been missing for almost 30 years. meet my half brother that was out there. wondering if he even knew I existed?!?
find out what happen to my Mother. which Ive accepted every scenario that could be with her good and bad.

My father, will not speak on the matter. which i understand. He was just diagnosed with stage 3 Hodgkin lymphoma and he starts chemo soon. that's been very emotional for me. Im scared to lose my dad again. and I cant even get out there to see him! (lives in NY)

my brother, father and I after he was released from prison
393051_10150445294487152_462143713_n.jpg

my favorite photo of my father
12573973_10153888251812152_4682749241383480392_n.jpg

Jan. 16th 2018. was the pivotal moment that I tried again. and there it was....my mother had a Facebook. it looks like it wasn't used for a while so I was already thinking another dead end.
Scrolled through her time line and saw this girl Megan commented on her photo. I decided to message her and ask if she knew My mother and her whereabouts.

my mother pregnant with my little sister Megan
jessie2.jpg

To my surprise I find out it was my sister I messaged. I didn't even know I had a sister!?!
Megan is 19 years old and live in alliance Ohio. her father died when she was young. jessie left her when she was 2... Megan told me about our older brother that she ended up in contact with years ago.... who is now transgender and is now my sister as well. Maxine, 31. she lives in Washington Tacoma. shes going to college and is married, she also served for our country.

Megan and mom
Jessie and megan.jpg
megans father, megan and our mother
jessie megan and robert.jpg

Im just in tears of joy.... 30 years Ive been waiting for this day. theirs so much more to the story. and I just want to share this to the world. especially, to those who got left behind by their parent. kids in foster care. or adopted children. No one believed that we would find each other. and it took forever. but we did. Although Megan been in contact with Maxine for some years now. they haven't met in person. So none of us have met in person. and we want to meet each other.

megan.jpg

maxine.jpg

Our mother, Jessie is in jail right now. in fact! she got booked January 7th 2018 a little after midnight.... which means, she got picked up and arrested ON MY BIRTHDAY.... What are the odds?!?
I believe things happen for a reason. and I wanted to reach out to a news room to see if they would be willing to help us fit the pieces together. I have not been in contact with Jessie. Although, I believe this would be the time to do it. she'll be sober and in a controlled environment. shes in San Fransisco county jail and she has court February 9th. the most important thing right now to me, is to reunite with my 2 sisters. this is definitely something special and I would like to share the story to others. to anyone whos struggled as much as we did. hoping to find out. who we really are.

I cant wait to meet them! to be continued.......

top left Maxine, top right Me, bottom left Megan, bottom right my brother DJ.
all 4 of us.jpg

Thank you for your time. and I really appreciate you reading this and I hope you respond! thank you!

Sort:  

Very interesting story .I lost contact with my nieces when they were 5 and 8 I helped my parents raise after both my brother and his ex wife were locked up for drugs and what not. after there mother (brothers ex wife) was released and she fled out of state .I just recently was in contact with my youngest niece now 28 with a family of her own ....really strange how the internet can put lost family members back in contact .

yeah its a trip! thanks technology!<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64