Where is Uncle and Aunty?

in #family6 years ago

The past week has been amazing. Last Thursday I met my husband's brother @galenkp and his beautiful (very beautiful!) wife for the first time. As a Finn, I don’t normally warm up too easily for new people but for some reason I felt very comfortable with them already during the first night. Probably because they seemed like (and are) warm, easy going and genuine people. I felt like I found my long-lost family members.

Our daughter loved them too.

I think it was love at first sight in both directions. It didn’t take her more than a couple of seconds to be her normal self and also that showed me how amazing they are. At least our two-year-old can smell it from far if someone is just trying to be nice without actually being it. So from day one she kept asking where Uncle and Aunty were if she couldn’t see them right in front of her.

Today was time to say goodbye for a while, most likely for at least two years until they come back to Finland. I knew the goodbyes would be hard because our daughter became so attached to them during the week but what took me by surprise was my own reaction. I literally felt heart broken when they left and that’s not typical for me either. I think I was just able to see how nice the life would be if they would be around.

I was in tears for a while after they waved goodbye but pulled myself together for our daughter. She had to go to her nap and I didn’t want to upset her any more. But just before falling asleep she looked straight at me with those big eyes and asked, “Where is Uncle and Aunty?” and the tears just came back.

We all miss them.

Hugs, Momone

Sort:  

We miss you too Hanna and your post here has made me cry again right in the middle of Singapore airport so thanks for that! You’re my sister now, through thick and thin, so it’s good you feel comfortable with us. We feel blessed to have met you and to be a part of your family too.

I’m sorry to have said very little in our goodbye, I just couldn’t speak but I think that hug I gave you said it all. xx

<3 <3 <3

Awww...two-year-olds.

I know. <3

You got a 29.90% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @momone!

She is a sharp little girl, it's in her eyes. She met them now so the next time will be even better and she will have more to add to the conversation. You all needed this visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65