You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cliché , or classic? Cats, goats, artists, photographers, authors: how do we avoid clichés...and should we?

in #family5 years ago

You are indeed blessed, with all your children thinking of you so fondly, even in oddities (perhaps especially in oddities).
I like the cow portrait! It's swell! And it makes me want to take a pix of my sheep and chicken painting, which I bought for my youngest when I found her standing transfixed before it at a yard sale.

4hg5zjv8bd.jpg

That ice cream shop looks so good! Their website is excellent. I would have chocolate ice cream (let's see if they can do that right first) with cherry sauce.
Great chair. Did you get to keep that? Cute serene cat too.

Sort:  

Your little daughter found that fantastic painting at a yard sale?? I love it!! I need to go to more sales!! I stopped going because I always buy something. Like that antique rocking chair. Which I just might keep whether or not anyone else likes it. Sci-Fi author Mark Ayling saw it on my FB wall and commented,

Aw no. That rocker looks haunted, like it might rock with nobody on it. Keep it.

#GottaLoveMark!
Mark Anthony Ayling spends whatever spare time he can salvage writing stories (often late at night), rearranging his record collection, going to watch live music, attending rugby league games, and watching films. Northern Futures is his first collection of short stories.

That's "swell" - now there's a phrase

I haven't heard since my aunt died, last century. Her hand-rolled cigarettes were always stained with her bright red lipstick. She'd lean up against the wall (making sure everyone else had a chair when our family of seven descended), and if we had known about the drinking game (and had access to liquor), we'd all have been drunk from the number of times she'd say "Gee, that's swell," blinking the way she blinked, unable to smile much due to some sort of facial paralysis or maybe a stroke. She was my mom's stepsister.

"Gee, that's swell" -- you have brought back

an avalenche of memories. Thanks as always for reading and commenting!

I love your freewrite comments. often deeply personal. I'm happy to have served as your prompt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92