What a Summer it's been so far

in #family6 years ago

Some of you know that I home educate/unschool my girls, and like it is for schooled children, summer usually also means down time for us home educators. Our regular home ed groups/activities tend to cool down over summer, as lots of families like to go away.

20180710_163917.jpg


We had no major plans to go away on holiday, mostly because I'm not a fan of peak season travel, but I did expect this Summer to be chilled and relaxing. Well.. chilled and relaxing it was, sometimes :P

My eldest Amadeia, was able to continue her climbing lessons over the summer, which she was over the moon about. She loves her climbing, that one.

20180807_144516.jpg

20180724_151917.jpg


The heatwave we've been having in the UK, meant we were in the river A LOT!! It's been great to have this chance to boost their confidence in water, and learn about river safety, which is so important for us living by the river.

20180806_191335.jpg

20180714_182422.jpg


I've shared before that we are the "always out" type of home educators... and we have definitely been out loadsssss

To kids festivals
20180729_130251.jpg

20180715_221212.jpg

20180723_183620.jpg

Days out to London attractions and outdoorsy places for lots of educational fun!!!

20180710_163805.jpg

20180710_155032.jpg

20180710_161920.jpg

20180710_171502.jpg

20180710_171611.jpg

20180627_142453.jpg

20180725_154240.jpg

20180725_141718.jpg

20180728_142852.jpg

20180728_135442.jpg


Did the most amazing Dinosaur interactive experience again - Dinosaurs in the Wild

20180729_155449.jpg

20180729_163809.jpg

20180729_164647.jpg


Even managed to check out the RAF 100 fly past!!! A once in a lifetime event, and we loved it. I took so many pics and vids of this event, I really should do a post about it...

20180710_130913.jpg

20180710_130841.jpg


It's been such a busy and eventful summer so far, full of fun and learning. And combined with the (mostly lovely) ups and downs of life, it has been some of the busiest few weeks I've had this year. Which is why I've been so so quiet for now.

20180809_202628.jpg

I can't wait to have more time again to explore the platform, and see what everyone's been up to. Hope you're all having a beautiful summer!!! Have you been doing anything fun? Been anywhere interesting?

Let me know! Much Love from Red

Sort:  

Wow you are busy!
We’re going to be taking our eldest climbing soon. He’s been climbing the furniture, rocks outside, and since he could!
We don’t go on holiday during peek time and a lot of attractions are so busy! But we have been getting our lots and even starting a forest school-ish with some other families.
I need to start writing about some of it on here.

I'm sure he'll love it! It was a long wait for my eldest until she was 5 so she could start climbing lessons, and now it's one of the things she'd be happy to do every day if she could.

It's great to hear about the community you're all starting up there, definitely write about it when you have time :)

Looks like you've had a wonderful summer @redrica. Thanks for sharing your lovely family photographs.

We've spent a lot of time on the beach with the grandkids and I recently returned from spending 10 days in Devon with friends.

We're planning on heading off to be beach again shortly for a picnic lunch.

Have a fun weekend! 😊

p.s. What a stunning sunset! 😱

Thanks Gillian :)

I love Devon! Where did you go??

I still haven't managed to do a beach day yet with the girls :( I need my vitamin Sea!! Enjoy the beach lovely, have a great weekend!

I was staying in North Devon @redrica. Just south of Bideford but we got out and about a bit both in Devon and Cornwall but I ended up working quite a lot and supporting my friend in here business. It was nice to get away though. 😊

Ohh.. great taste, it's my favourite part of Devon! All my trips to Devon has always been near Ilfracombe, love it around there :)

A workcation is still good ;)

Agreed. A workcation is really good too @redrica.

We were quite a bit further south from Ilfracombe.

Who needs a pool when you've got the great River Thames in your backyard? I'm so jealous hahah. Nice one.

We loveeeed it during the heatwave.. saved our summer!!!

Wow so cute my babies xxx

Thanks lovely! They are cuties, very cheeky ones though! Hope you're well, will I see you at Steemfest?? :)

Haha.. damn you for making me so jealous of not having kids to do the same with ;) Seriously though, I love your attitude and I admire your resolve, it is not easy bringing up children in the first place but to educate them in practical and instructive was is harder still.

That being said, having met your children I think they are pretty darn adorable and are full of confidence and curiosity.

London's been great this summer and I have to say the city shines when the weather is nice. Parks look great, pub gardens inviting , picnics are possible!

Hell! Us Brits are so used to not knowing what the next day will bring it is nice to be able to just plan ahead a week.

Really happy you have managed to spend so much time out and as a qualified instructor fish I fully approve of you taking your kids into water and teaching them the important skills to be learned.

Thanks for sharing and makes me smile to think of the next time I will see you all together again.

You're younger one looks like a mini you!!!! Looks like they're having a lovely summer so far

Hehe that's what everyone says! Thanks we are indeed (mostly anyway) ;)

Looks like a beautiful, fun filled summer with so many good times. It’s so nice to see your happy face. ☺️

Our biggest summer event is just around the corner. Two weeks in the eastern US visiting Boston, Cape Cod and surrounds. I am excited for vacation! 😃

Thanks lovely! It's actually been quite a tough summer for other reasons, but it definitely fills my cup doing all this fun stuff with the kids. And we are such a fun loving family too, so we're always up to some sort of fun, which works well for me ;)

That sounds like a great vacation, I've heard Cape Cod is beautiful! Have you been before?Have the best time!!

Fantastic to see unschooling at work. I love that you're an out-out kind of family.
This summer has been amazing for meetups too, we've hung out with loads of unschooling families. We've done a lot of wild parks and done plenty of learning-rich activities.
Love seeing your photos :)

Sounds amazing! Would love to come up with the family and check out the unschooling scene there! Hope you're all well :)

Absolutely! Our unschooling crew is generally between ages of 4-6 at the moment. We've got a great little community. Still early days in our journey, but lots more to come I'm sure.

We will give you a heads up if we're London way. We fancy a family trip down after the school holiday madness is over

You have the right idea, I'm aching to get away when summer is over. Definitely let me know though if you guys plan to come down! If it's a good time, you guys are welcome to stay with us for a night or 2 :)

Wow... rock climbing! so nice.

Congratulations @redrica! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99