WE ACTUALLY NEED TO ALWAYS MAKE OUT TIME FROM OUR BUSY SCHEDULE TO STAY WITH OUR FAMILY. FAMILY FIRST, LOVE.

in #familyfirst6 years ago

IMG_20180503_130630.jpg

I turned the phone and she had broken the screen when she threw it on the floor. This was a device she wanted to sell and raise some funds for her accessories business, her side hustle.

I asked why she had to throw the phone in such manner, but she only sighed and shook her head.

"Babe, who do you love so dearly on this earth?"

Usually, she can be weird with her questions but this one just felt way off the conversation. "Why are you asking? Do you want me to lend you anyone I love?"

"Not really. I saw something that made me feel really bad."

She loved her junior sister so much. She tried to give her gifts and anything she wanted, just like any elder sister would do. The junior sister never lacked free clothes, hairs, perfumes and shoes. But what she never really did for her sister, was share quality moments with her. They never really bonded.

On that phone was a text message the junior sister sent to her the day it happened.

"@Preshchris, please pass me that tissue box. And for hell's sake stop pressing your phone. Percious! Echezona Chisom drop that phone or you want me to break it too?"

"Sorry. I had to reply a text."

She saw the text message on her phone and threw away the phone in anger. Her junior sister had sent her a text, telling her of the need for them to have a weekend hangout at the cinema or any cool place.

She saw the text but didn't reply. She was busy at work and hoped to reply her when she got home that evening. Hoped, what she never need countless number of times.

unnamed.jpg
Image

On her way home, she got a phone call that the sister had an accident on her way to buy movie tickets at the cinema.

She parked at the road side and cried for more than 15 minutes.

"Presh, I felt like dying. She had begged me to buy the tickets since I was mobile. But I told her to go and get it. I was busy. I am always busy."

"You know I can't handle this situation of crying. Please hold yourself."

She would've gotten those tickets. She could've made more time for her sister. She could've provided more quality memories for both of them.

But...

Alas...

That didn't happen...

Life happened...

But...

The sister survived the accident with minor bruises and was discharged from the hospital a couple of days later.

But my friend has not forgiven herself for that accident because it left a mark on the left leg of her sister.

The best time to show love and care is now. Not tomorrow, not next week, not next year. Do it now!

If death had called, who knows what would've happened?

Reaching out for your loved ones shows how much you have them in mind.

Still one of you @preshchris

Sort:  

Congratulations @preshchris! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67