You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AUSTRALIAN ROYAL COMMISSION INTO INSTITUTIONAL RESPONSES TO CHILD ABUSE: How did it get to this?

Thanks for the detailed comment!

I share your sentiment regarding the effectiveness of a Royal Commission. I do not know of any successful or impactful Royal Commission undertaken by the Commonwealth of Australia in my lifetime. Most recently we had a Royal Commission into our banks which are the most profitable and least competitive in the world. The end result of this royal commision: basically nothing.

Love the history of British law also. The Magna Carta and Westminster system is something I think used to work very well. But as you outline, it doesn't exist anymore. The law has an intermediary between it and it's citizens: Industry lobbying and commercial interests.

I will carry on reporting for as long as i can type ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66903.13
ETH 3103.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74