Child Protection Services - Trying to find out the reasons for the problems

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

(55% of the final reward from this post (after curation) will be donated to @familyprotection
5% of the final reward from this post(after curation) will be donated to @informationwar
Check out how to calculate it in the footer of this article(1))

Personal note before starting writting the article(about tags #familyprotection and #informationwar)

#informationwar - is the tag that started curating my articles on a regular basis and I don't forget that(thanks @openparadigm )

#familyprotection - Why #familyprotection is a great tag for me to write to?:

1st reason - I love to write, I tried to publish a book in the past but, in the country where I live(Portugal), it's very hard if you are not famous and earning money writting is great for me.
2nd reason - I love to fight injustices and, in my life, I had a lot of problems for doing that. I had tried to ignore injustices before but I just can't, this is the way I am and I can't change it.

So, writting, earning money and fighting big injustices, all at the same time, seems like a dream to me.

To write about child "protection" services and their abuses around the world, I have been doing some research and thinking about what content I could write that would generate value to the cause and to my readers.
Knowing that a big percentage of my potential readers is Canadian, I took some time to do research about the Canadian system.
I found out that the percentage of children removed from parents in Canada is proportionally much higher than in the rest of the world.
I tried to figure out why was that.

I think I found out one of the answers:

Canadian Child Protection services are assured, not directly by the government, but by independent "non-profit" organizations.
So, everybody knows that, in practice, "non-profits" are everything but non-profit.
They work as companies but profits are distributed in the way of salaries and other benefits to people that control those organizations.(They are, in practice, its' owners)

Furthermore, more revenues mean the organizations grow more and that means more social status for the directors. And their revenues are directly correlated to the number of children they put in foster care. So, the directors' financial and social success will be, consequently, also correlated to the number of children they remove from their parents.

THIS IS THE PERFECT RECIPE FOR DISASTER!!!!!

Good People vs Bad People

There are a few people that are very good people and they are good all the time, in almost every circunstance. But these people are very few.
There are also people that are bad people all the time, in almost every circumstance, but they are also very few.
Apart from these 2 groups, that are exceptions to the rule, most people, although I believe they prefer to be good than to be bad, will adapt to what is more favorable to them and to the environment they are inserted in.

I am all for private initiative but not in cases in which an entity works with special powers given by the State and is funded by the state.

Social Workers

Social workers' job existence will depend on the number of children in the foster system: if there are less children in the system and the system needs to fire social workers they will fire the ones that remove less children from their parents or, by other words, the ones that generate less income to the system.
Imagine an hypothetical situation:

  • a social worker from CPS spends 1 month investigating 5 families following 5 denunciations....She investigates it deeply and well so she only has time in that month to investigate those 5 families. After those investigations she finds out there is no reason to remove any of those families' children, only generating financial expenditure to the system.(you need to spend money and resources to make a decent, deep and good investigation)

-On the other hand, other social worker, in the same period of time, with the same or less financial resources, investigates 20 families, removes 10 children from those families using minor issues as pretext, exaggerating it in the reports, writting it with a lot of drama, "saving" 10 children from "allegedly abusive" parents and generating a lot of income to the system, making it to grow and justifying its' existence.

Who do you think the system will praise more?

The second one, of course, and most likely the first one was the one that did the things correctly.

And if the system needs to fire someone who do you think they'll gonna fire?

First one, of course!!!!

THE SYSTEM IS RIGGED!!!!!!!

So, to deal with the system, you can't always act with good faith with them, as if they were all righteous and pure.

Don't open the door to them, don't give info to them.

At the same time, not for them but for your children, try to be the best parent you can be.
Don't try to be perfect. Perfection doesn't exist and if you try to be perfect you will end up living for appearances.

And don't try to make your children perfect but constantly tell them and show them you like them EXACTLY AS THEY ARE.
It's what I try to do everyday with my son.
Don't recriminate yourself for mistakes from the past(every good parent makes mistakes) but try to do the best you can from today.
Hope my article was interesting to read.

About the author: My life until now has been a crazy one. When I was younger I wanted to study math or engineering but the social pressure made me attend medical school.
In Portugal, medical college is a 6 years degree and you start it after you finish high school. Tuition fees are symbolical and your entrance is only based on the high school marks. You need a very high average mark to enter.
Many people with high average marks, although they didn't think about attending medical school, are pressed by their parents to attend it.
I didn't like medical school. It was not what I wanted so I had a profound depression and I left it.
I love to write, and although English is not my native language, I will try my best to offer you interesting articles.
Apart from that, I am a Christian, I love God and I love Christ deeply with all my heart and all my soul.


(1) 55% of the final rewards of this article after curation will be donated to @familyprotection
5% of the final rewards of this article after curation will be donated to @informationwar

How will I calculate it?

Imagine that my article has a reward of 20$, after curation, I get 15$, 7.5 SBDs and 7.5 Steem Power
Imagine that SBDs are worth 7USD and Steem 6 USD.
So, final reward after curation: 7.5 x 7 + 7.5 x 6 = 52.5+45 = 97.5 USD
So, I will donate 53.63 USD to @familyprotection (55% of 97.5 USD )(paid in SBDs or Steem according to my balance at the moment of payment) and I will donate 4.88 USD to informationwar (5% of 97.5 USD) (paid in SBDs or Steem according to my balance at the moment of payment)

If you found this article interesting upvote it and follow me . Thanks

hands-3062274_960_720.png
image taken from pixabay.com from the artist geralt(check his profile through this link https://pixabay.com/pt/users/geralt-9301/ )

Sort:  

Curated for #informationwar by @stevescoins
Relevance: critical thinking process, institutional subversion
Our Purpose

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56