Comparing CPS in Canada and in Portugal

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

(55% of the final earnings from this post(after curation) will be donated to @familyprotection to empower the #familyprotection tag
5% of the final earnings from this post(after curation) will be donated to @informationwar to empower the #informationwar tag -- Check how to calculate it in the footer of this article (1) )

CPS in Canada and CPS in Portugal have different issues.
A big issue in Canada is the massive removal of children from their parents without a decent reason.
In Portugal, although that sometimes happens, it is not such a widespread issue because the government doesn't want to spend money.
However, from what I've been reading, I believe the situation of ALREADY fostered children in Portugal is well worst than the ones in Canada.(you can check more about things happening in Portugal in a previous article I wrote https://steemit.com/fight4truth/@fight4truth/shocking-things-happening-with-fostered-children-in-portugal)

Sure that in Canada or wherever else in the world, fostered children will be in a bad situation because, generally, children are much, much, much better with their families and with a mother that had them inside of her than with people that see them as a source of profit.

However, in spite of being a much more developed country and have fosters that have not so bad conditions as in Portugal, CPS system in Canada is probably one of the worst systems in the world regarding to exaggerately removing children from parents.
From what I have been reading, more than 1% of Canadian children are in foster care. That's completely insane!!!!
In UK, which is a systen where people claim that children are also removed exaggerately from their parents, the rate of children in foster care is 0.18%(it was 0.02% a few years ago), and in Portugal is probably lower than 0.01%.

I think that the reason for the fact that this thing is happening in Canada is the one I mentioned in my last article(non-governmental organizations with State power doing States' job and receiving funding that is proportional to the children taken from their parents)

I think that a good strategy for Canadian people who fight abuses from the system could be trying to change legislation so that CPS' investigations are made by an independent governmental organization whose funding is independent of the number of children in foster care.

It should be an entity just to investigate abuses on children that would be completely independent from the entities that handle fostering.

Funds would not depend on the children taken to foster because a well done investigation costs the same if they come to the conclusion that a child is OK with their parents than it would cost if the final conclusion is that the child should be removed from the family.

Those investigations should be made, not by non-profits, but directly from the government, as nearly anywhere else in the world.

I'm all for private initiative and it has been proven to work better in nearly every situation but there are very specific situations in which state intervention has proven to be better.(example: funding scientific research that has no direct application, etc)
This is also one of these cases.

In Portugal there were specific cases in which children were unfairly removed from parents(as mentioned in my article https://steemit.com/fight4truth/@fight4truth/shocking-things-happening-with-fostered-children-in-portugal ) but it's not widespread as in Canada.
The big problem in Portugal is what happens to the children in foster institutions.
The cases of sexual abuse(again as mentioned in my article https://steemit.com/fight4truth/@fight4truth/shocking-things-happening-with-fostered-children-in-portugal ) and the fact that Portugal has short prescription times even for serious crimes make crimes against institutionalized children unpunishable in most cases.
I believe we should use this momentum created on the Steem blockchain by the #familyprotection to fight for families and children around the world.
In Canada, in spite of being a very developed country, the situation is crazy. With a crazily high percentage of children in foster I imagine this should be a pain, not only for the families whose kids were unfairly removed, but also to all the other families that will live in a paranoia in which any scream, any bruise, any misunderstanding or pure jealousy or evilness from any neighbour may lead to a visit from Canadian CPS.
This will also affect a healthy relationship between parents and children, adding a lot of stress and fear to the equation.

If you found this article interesting upvote it and follow me . Thanks


About the author: My life until now has been a crazy one. When I was younger I wanted to study math or engineering but the social pressure made me attend medical school.
In Portugal, medical college is a 6 years degree and you start it after you finish high school. Tuition fees are symbolical and your entrance is only based on the high school marks. You need a very high average mark to enter.
Many people with high average marks, although they didn't think about attending medical school, are pressed by their parents to attend it.
I didn't like medical school. It was not what I wanted so I had a profound depression and I left it.
I love to write, and although English is not my native language, I will try my best to offer you interesting articles.
Apart from that, I am a Christian, I love God and I love Christ deeply with all my heart and all my soul.


(1) 55% of the final rewards of this article after curation will be donated to @familyprotection
5% of the final rewards of this article after curation will be donated to @informationwar

How will I calculate it?

Imagine that my article has a reward of 20$, after curation, I get 15$, 7.5 SBDs and 7.5 Steem Power
Imagine that SBDs are worth 7USD and Steem 6 USD.
So, final reward after curation: 7.5 x 7 + 7.5 x 6 = 52.5+45 = 97.5 USD
So, I will donate 53.63 USD to @familyprotection (55% of 97.5 USD )(paid in SBDs or Steem according to my balance at the moment of payment) and I will donate 4.88 USD to informationwar (5% of 97.5 USD) (paid in SBDs or Steem according to my balance at the moment of payment)

family-591579_960_720.jpg

picture from pixabay, from the author jill111 ( check his profile through https://pixabay.com/pt/users/jill111-334088/ )

Sort:  

This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @familyprotection

Governments around the world,
are using "Child Protection Agencies"
to take children away from loving families
and place them in foster care or group homes
or put up for adoption.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

Upvote This Comment & Donate a Portion of the Liquid Rewards from this post,
TO HELP US HELP FAMILIES IN CRISIS.

Thank-you @fight4truth for supporting @familyprotection

thank you very much

The number of these cases are increasing day by day.

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)
Relevance:Corruption and incompetence by CPS

This is a very noble act, I support you @fight4truth have a nice day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57