You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Power In Numbers - Unified Against Evil - Enjoy with Troy!

in #familyprotection5 years ago

On the subject of the voting machines: I was a poll worker and then a precinct chair for a number of years (my first election was at 18 and I worked the last when I was 28 - had too many nursing babies since to be able to work).

One of the most frustrating things was hearing from relatives about the "broken voting machines". Most people have no idea what that really means or how the machines work.

The tabulators can and do break down, but that does nothing to the counting of votes. There are quite a few systems in place - including the physical paper ballots - that provide even the generally incompetent poll workers (I'm sorry...most workers really don't understand what they're doing but voting systems are designed to compensate for this) a way to keep the election running fairly even if the machines are having trouble.

Hearing a report of a voting machine having a problem doesn't really mean anything for the fairness of the votes counted...

Sort:  

Thank you my friend for explaining that. Blessings.

You're welcome! I'm not sure I've ever really been able to reassure anyone, but out of all the potential election problems...it seems to me like the machines are far less indicative of fraud than things like the stuff going on in Broward and Palm Beach, which is all human activity and not machine-driven.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83