A dangerous 'trend' is starting to develop in Ireland concerning children in care

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

A few weeks ago I was reading some articles in the Irish Mirror about children in care. It was 'National Adoption Week' both in the UK and in Ireland and the Mirror gave extra attention to some children in foster care in an attempt to find them adoptive families.
Since the Children's referendum passed in 2012, lots has changed, but again it hasn't.


source: sott.net

What was the referendum about?

You can find the outline of this referendum here:
https://www.dcya.gov.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/child_welfare_protection/childrensreferendum.htm

According to the media, there was a low turnout but 58% voted in favour, while 42% voted against.
Now, let's have a look at what was wrong with the referendum from the beginning.

This is an exert from an article posted on the Barnardos website.
About the Referendum
The Children’s Referendum, which was passed on November 10th, is a once in a generation opportunity to show how much Ireland values children by strengthening the protections for them in the heart of Irish law. This referendum is a beginning. It will lay the foundation on which we can continue to build better supports for families and children.

And here you can read the YES campaign, also found on the same website:

So what is wrong with this picture?

At first glance, most people would argue: nothing.

But let's have a closer look at what actually happened during this campaign.
Of course there was a NO campaign as well, however, the media gave a lot more attention to the YES campaign.
Booklets and brochures that were handed out and posted to people also revealed very little about the downsides of a yes vote, and therefore it was a very one-sided approach.
We all know that the majority of people tend to listen to what the mainstream media brainwashes them with, and this campaign was no exception.

And then, there is this:

Children have the right to be heard, when decisions are made about them.

Very noble indeed. It almost seems like they would actually listen to the children in question.
But this is hardly ever true.
Most of the people who ever had to deal with CPS know that they filter out information that is given to them. They hardly listen to the parents, because they already go in with their judgement ready.
They might listen or act like they do, but do they really hear what is said - or only what they want to hear?
Regarding children, I believe this would be even worse: so will the word of a child be truly heard, or just filtered into their own truths?
Besides this, cps workers have a long history of putting words into the mouths of children.
It is very easy to ask a homeschooled child for instance if they didn't like school to get an answer they like to hear.
If I only look at my own kids, my youngest daughter would answer that she in fact did like school, but the reasons for being homeschooled will never be heard.
It is very easy for a CPS worker to ask: "But don't you think that...?" and the response of a child would be "Yes."

In the following article, Ryan Fahey writes this:

One of the unintended consequences of the proposed amendment is that it may pit children against parents on some issues, and that the courts may be called upon to arbitrate these disputes.

In addition, Article 42.5 is to be replaced by Article 42A.2.1. The reasons for State intervention in exceptional cases will change from ‘for physical and moral reasons’ to ‘to such extent that the safety or welfare of any of their children is likely to be prejudicially affected’. This will change the role of the courts from one in which each case is evaluated to some degree with retrospective certainty to one in which ‘likely’ future outcomes become the yardstick. The consequence of this will be that children may be taken from parents simply on the say so of social workers in the District Courts, which are courts of ‘summary’ justice.

Finally our family courts are de facto secret courts. There are hundreds of cases going though these courts each year. How do we know whether the constitution and legislation is being adhered to in these secret courts? The simple answer is we don’t. There is no public accountability.

https://www.dcya.gov.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/child_welfare_protection/childrensreferendum.htm

Let me put the microscope on these statements:

  1. If a child has any kind of dispute with the parents, for whatever reason, this can have serious consequences.
    Parents of teenagers know how easy we can have a dispute with our teens and that in those cases any rational thinking on the side of the teen are nearly non-existent.
    I remember very vividly a 'dispute' I had with my parents when I was 15 years old about not being allowed to go to a party. I recall threatening to call the child help line, only to manipulate my parents into letting me go.
    My father, who was of the non blackmailing kind, responded by saying that if I pick up that phone that I better keep walking (I would have had to go to a phone booth) because if he'd catch up to me I wouldn't be able to with two broken legs...Would he actually have done this? *NO I wouldn't even have been able to leave the house.
    Would I have done what I threatened with? NO But just imagine, it could have been, I could have called that number and made up a story and besides that added that my dad had threatened to break my legs....In those days I doubt if this would have been taken very seriously if it came from an upset teen and they probably would have gotten the truth eventually.
    But nowadays, I'm not too sure...

  2. Children can be taken from parents simply on the say so of social workers...
    So it basically means if the social worker doesn't like you, or doesn't like the way you live, you can lose your child.

  3. Family courts are secret...
    This may well be the most disturbing one.


Bill will give High Court revised criteria to approve adoption without parental consent.
Hundreds of children currently in foster care will become eligible for adoption under proposed legislation before the Dáil, according to Minister for Children and Youth Affairs Dr Katherine Zappone.

Awe, isn't she just the loveliest woman?

Mr. Ryan Fahey highlights that this is absolutely not the case, nor a problem solver. He states that most families considering adoption want young children, so they can better bond with them. So the older children have very little chance, which rips families apart even more when a younger sibling is adopted and the older ones aren't.

So what about that dangerous trend I spoke about?

OK, sit back and I will explain. I only read two of the articles to see the similarities in both stories.
The titles were as follows:

Three adorable siblings at risk of being split up if they don't find their 'forever home' together

Little Demi and her three tiny brothers have lost both their parents - they must not lose each other

Upon reading through both of these, there was one similarity that jumped out right away.
I quote: “Bryan was very much the carer, which he had been at home, so he struggled a little bit to let go of that responsibility."

And: “Demi thought she was their ‘little mother’. She was like a mum to all of them."
“Now I have to keep telling her I’m here to keep them all safe. She must leave that to me now. I would put some food
out for her before I delivered the other plates and she would ask: ‘What’s Finley having?’

Source: http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/real-life-stories/three-adorable-siblings-risk-being-11372876
and: http://www.irishmirror.ie/lifestyle/family/little-demi-three-tiny-brothers-11353250

Now, let me explain what I feel is wrong with this picture.
Immediately, the writer plays with the heartstrings of the reader.
Anyone who reads this could possibly think: "Awe, poor children, had to be mother and father for their siblings at such a young age." Now, I'm not saying that there aren't actually situations like this, but I also know that these writers are trained and paid to make people believe these things. If we dig a bit deeper, we find out that the kids in these cases are the oldest siblings.

If I look around in any community, I will find families where the older siblings will boss their younger ones around a bit, will mother them a bit or will ask you what Finley is having for dinner.
Again, just looking at my own children: My eldest doesn't 'mother' but is very quick in bossing the others around.
My youngest daughter though, now 9 years old, was already the caring type from the moment she was walking.
Hell, she bosses me around! She's my walking and talking shopping list in the grocery store, anything I forget, she'll remind me to get.
Sometimes there are moments when I am busy doing other things, like cooking or working and she'll 'solve' a problem with the youngest for me, or tells me what's going on. Like when he climbs on the table...
Does this make me a bad parent? I don't think so. To be honest: I could never stop her from doing these things because that's just the way she is.
I don't think any parent has eyes everywhere. When the western world still had whole communities, it was quite normal for older siblings, or neighbours or aunts to lend a helping hand. Nowadays it seems like the parent is immediately stamped as being unfit.

Then, there is the second, and maybe most important issue I feel needs to be reviewed with these stories.

In one of these stories, the children have been in foster care for 1 year, in the other only 8 months!
In Ireland, now children can be adopted by their foster parents after 18 months.
But this doesn't seem to be the case in these stories since it now is a judge who decided that it is OK to put them up for adoption.
Of course, I don't know the full story. But I do know that in both sets of siblings there is at least one baby and/or young toddler. Just looking at this picture tells me that:

  1. CPS hasn't tried really hard to help the family to stay together and for the parents to keep their children.
  2. And even if the parents were somehow not coping with raising their own children (with help they barely had), they are now hardly given a chance to get themselves clean, back on their feet or whatever they need to do to get their kids back.
    I'm not sure about other people's opinion on this, but unless the parents were absolutely horribly abusing them, I find this kind of judgement and outcome very, very harsh.
    Don't forget: as soon as someone decides they want to adopt these kids, any contact with the birth parents will be ceased.

The other thing that I also find very disturbing - especially here in Ireland, is that there is a big difference when the parents are married. If a child is born out of wedlock, even if the father has established that he is the father on paper, it is still very much possible that a child is taken into care and given up for adoption without even hearing the father.
We constantly hear that the church has no influence in these cases anymore, but I just can't shake the feeling that they still very much have a say in these matters. That alone gives me the creeps - because you never know - there might just be a CPS worker who has a brother who is a priest....

@familyprotection is an initiative by @markwhittam and @canadian-coconut to help people tell their stories, raise awareness of these issues and funds are being raised to help families fight the system.
If you don't know them yet, please follow them and check the tag #familyprotection for many stories regarding similar subjects.

REVOLUTION.jpg

giphy (2).gif

ho'opono.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @familyprotection

Governments around the world,
are using "Child Protection Agencies"
to take children away from loving families
and place them in foster care or group homes.
THESE FAMILIES NEED PROTECTING.

Funds are being raised so that in the future we can help families fight the system and stay together. Your UPVOTE of this comment will support this cause.

Thank you @misslasvegas for supporting @familyprotection

Great article @misslasvegas, I remember when that referendum was being put forward. So much propaganda about how the 'State is here to protect the nations children'. Parents not realising that they were handing over their rights as parents to the state, it never went into detail as what they the State considered neglect.

This opened it all up to the possibility of it being around, education, living choices even your attitude as a parent. Me and my family left Ireland not long after that. It's such a shame, It's not the only reason we left but it was a big part of it. As living in a Bus could very well be seen as parents failing or in their own words:
" where the parents for physical or moral reasons fail in their duty towards their children, the State as guardian of the common good, by appropriate means shall endeavour to supply the place of the parents, but always with due regard for the natural and imprescriptible rights of the child" that really did set off alarm bells for me. "Morals", they basically leave it right open , to take children out of their homes for any reason they see as morally wrong. Scary times.

Thank you. My sentiments exactly. This is one of the reasons why I don't think we'll be staying here much longer. I am constantly looking over my shoulder for everything. The funny thing is, my eldest started back in school last September (Youth Reach) and they have a no bullying policy and I have to say, they are quite good with it. But because she was new and right away got all the attention, some kids got jealous and are now making her life hell. The school head is actively doing something about it, but there was something more serious and she rang the social worker (I knew she was going to) and the woman just told her that was not their concern. So obviously they are only there to protect the children from their parents, not others....The girl in question is over 18 and not even in their school, so it should be a case for them really...But I didn't know you lived in Ireland. Are you Irish? Thank you for your feedback. :)

I'm sorry to hear you are thinking of leaving but i do understand. Yeah I'm Irish, lived out of Ireland for a long time and then returned and had my first two girls there. But living the way me and my partner wanted to didn't really work there.

Yes, anything out of the ordinary is frowned upon. I have to say since I moved from Co. Roscommon to Mayo I noticed a lot of difference in how people treat us. In Roscommon we would be asked 1000 times a week why the kids weren't in school and when we answered truthfully they would nod and fake smile. In Mayo I get completely different responses. Especially here in town because we moved into the house of other home schoolers, and since everyone knew them, it's more accepted I guess. My eldest daughter told me that she would just tell people (her age) that she dropped out of school, because she felt that kids thought that homeschoolers were all 'hippie weirdos'. The fact that I told her that we kinda are hippie weirdos and it's something to be proud of, didn't help of course ;) The funny thing is, when we were at the home education conference, she told me afterwards that the kids there were all like her and she got along with them really well, but that her friends here were completely different from her and there was always some drama going on. Where are you from in Ireland? I am thinking of leaving yes, but before we do (if we don't have to leave anytime soon) I would love to take the caravan and explore Ireland a bit more. There are so many places where we haven't been or not long and I know that once we leave, it could be a long time before we come back. I definitely want to visit Cork for a while as we have some friends there (the home ed community is very strong there) and Kerry. We've never been there (only Cork city and passing through) and I would love to spend at least a few weeks there.

I'm form the midlands Co. Offaly, but settled in Cork to have two of my girls. We moved between cork city, Garretstown and Bandon in our bus. Their is a great community in Cork for home education and birth. I was part of a great women's group there, 'the wild women of Cork'. I miss that sometimes but I'm also glad we left, we have more freedom over here in Spain to live how we want. You should definitely goto Cork and Kerry, they are both really beautiful counties and have very vibrant culture. Let me know if you plan to go.

Children's feeling are rarely taken into consideration. Sadly they are underrepresented. Their feelings do not matter. That is so wrong. I feel passionate about this injustice personally. My parents divorced when I was a child. I looked up my other parent when I was 18. No one asked me how I felt or what I wanted. Children are either overlooked or manipulated. In the case of CPS the CPS workers are only interested in covering their butts. If a child says something it is exaggerated. Perhaps they are afraid of a suit. Perhaps they have a quota to meet. But it sure as hell is not the welfare of the child. Kids matter. Their feelings matter and their emotions count. Judges need to know this. One last thing. The child's situation is not the problem. CPS IS THE PROBLEM. Children would be better off without CPS. It is a contradiction unto itself. I believe they call that an oxymoron.

Very true. They make it seem like they listen to the child, and do it for the child. That's how they got away with the referendum in the first place. They played the people's heart strings, because who doesn't want children's rights defended? The crazy thing is though that I for one had no vote in this, because I'm not Irish and 'just' live here. But the referendum does concern me and my family. Meaning that it can cause problems for people who had absolutely no say in it whatsoever. So let alone that kids have a say. And yes, CPS is the problem, they create more problems than they solve. Their 'help' is pestering people, giving them stress they don't need and much uncertainty for children and their families. Thank you for your feedback @enjoywithtroy

Thanks for the post. It is sad how the media plays on our emotions to get us to feel a certain way so we won't look into the truth or details. That happens everywhere all the time. So crazy.

You're welcome. Yes, very true. The media gets told and paid to do this. They're the masters of deception and unfortunately a lot of people still fall for it without question.

Yes, for real. They do get paid to do that! So crazy. Most people don't question it at all.

Worrying times as the control an media manipulation increase. We are at a turning point unfortunately people have to see it go wrong before the question it but sometimes its too late then. Forced adoption should be taken very seriously be everyone as one tiny mistake could destroy any family .Time for us all to take note!

I couldn't agree more! That's why I see it as my duty to keep spreading awareness to this and help to wake people up. Thank you for your feedback.

Keep on doing what your doing, grand job !

Congratulations @misslasvegas, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2821 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4396.33. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice post! In my option children adoption should be taken seriously. Parents of the children to be adopted should be consented if they are alive. So they could keep track of their children. I follow and upvote you. Pls. Do same for me.

thank you for reading and your feedback :) And you're right, the parents are put on the side-line to watch strangers decide the fate of their children. It is absolutely horrible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81