You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ecoTrain Question Of The Week: Lawful kidnapping by the State (Child Protection, Social Services) is a symptom of a modern day crisis. What are the issues that lay behind the increasing trend of State taking children away from their parents, and .......

I forgot to mention my two younger brother's and I were raised by the state for half of our adolescent years. I was 12 when the state assumed custody of me and that relationship would last until I was 24 years old. I was in Juvenile Detention on and off throughout my teenage life. On average it was my residence from 2-6 months periodically while I waited for a new placement in one of their youth programs as they call them. My first was a placement in a foster home. These people were quite messed up. They used the money allotments from the state to be used for me on their kids instead. Psychologically, they treated my awful. I am an Atheist and have been most of my life. They consistently called me a devil, were always screeming at me and even resorted to bringing in a priest to banish the demons I brought into their home, according to their beliefs. It was a psychological nightmare. I was there for 7 months, trying to negotiate with my probation officer a different placement. I was 13 at the time. My grievances were ignored, so after a few more weeks, I ran away. Next I was sent to a Group Home. My brother was also now in state custody, so they placed us together this time. We both ran away that night. My brother went to a different group home and since I was the oldest, as an example to my brother's, I was sent to the Kent County Youth Camp In Kent County, Michigan. This is my place of birth. The Youth Camp was a farming work program. I ran away the first night and lived on the streets for two months. I am now 14 years old. My next placement was of a bit stricter facility. It's called George Junior Republic and was located in Grove City, Pennsylvania. The all boys institution was modelled after Boys Town, Nebraska, which is nationally known. I went on to complete this program after 16 months and was released home. I went on to the adult system next. I turned 18 years old while sitting in jail for a year. I graduated high school 3 months early, by taking the G.E.D. or General Education Test. At the age of 22, I was arrested for possession of Marijuana and was sent to prison for 1 1/2 - 5 years. I was released one year later because of earned good time. I am now about to turn 44 years old and have pretty much kept my nose clean for the last 20 years. I am now getting ready to divest myself about 95% from the system. The rest is summarized well enough in my Steemit Introduction. I would not change a thing I have done. It has made me who I am and I don't have much of a problem with my character. I do however, understand the American "Justice" system well enough. It is brainwashing mixed with negative reinforcement, which many of us know, especially animal trainers, is a failed technique. If we as a species want to grow compassion, corporate style punishment/ judgement systems must become a thing of the past.

Sort:  

WOW! What a story! I'm glad you came out of that as good as you did. Others aren't that lucky and some don't live to tell the tale. The problem with most foster carers is that they are offered an amount of money that would have anyone consider to do the same. I'm not sure what it is in the US, but here in Ireland, foster families get 350 euro per week per child! How many families would be able to improve their way of life with only half that money and would be able to keep their kids because of it. A lot of the children are removed here for financial reasons, now more than ever after numerous families lost everything they had to the banks...And I agree regarding 'brainwashing mixed with negative reinforcement' being a failed technique. I'm glad you mention animal trainers...it couldn't be a better example. I practice natural horsemanship with our horses and teach the kids the same, I think we could all take an example here when it comes to treating humans in the same respectful manner. And indeed, the system as it is now, needs to be a thing of the past, rather soon...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84