A Post for Pinkie-Pepper - I tried MAKING CURLY HAIR USING SOCKSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fashion4 years ago (edited)

Curly Hair 2.png

Thanks @papa-pepper for sharing your daughter’s great idea!


My family is fascinated with finding the most energy-efficient ways of living life. We reduce food waste, limit fossil fuel usage, conserve our monetary resources and, in general, invest in a less-is-more lifestyle. When I saw the pictures of pinkie-pepper using socks to curl her hair, I just HAD to try it!

First, I have waaaaay too many random, unmatched socks hanging out at my house because I refuse to put them in a landfill, hoping that I can find some use for them at some point. Every now and then one of my seedlings appropriates them for a makeshift doll dress or simple machine invention. But, really, using them to curl my hair is the BEST idea I have heard.

I followed pinkie-pepper’s instructions and got my hair wet. It looks like she can be followed at @little-peppers too! I divided it up into sections and rolled each section up around a sock. I diverged here a bit and instead of tying a knot, I folded up the sock with my hair in it, using the rolled-up-sock technique I mate socks with while doing laundry.

hair socks cropped.jpg

I slept comfortably in the socks, although I did move the balls to the sides of my head on the second night instead of putting any in the back. Pro sock curing tip: think about how you sleep and put the socks where you will not be laying on them.


Curly Hair cropped.jpg

When I woke in the morning, all the socks had stayed in and I was left with beautiful, effortless, energy-efficient curls! Thanks for this great idea!


I am grateful to find a place with rich soil to grow a community. May we take root, and flourish together.

@Bia.Birch 🌱

All artwork, photographs, and content are original and created by @bia.birch unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

Hahaha! This is awesome and I love how there's no machine and electricity needed for this. Love the way your hair looks! Whether you got this idea from someone else or not, it's highly inspirational :>)

Thanks @vincentnijman! It was super fun to do. I think @pinkie-pepper had a spark of genius when she created this idea - great time and energy saver for sure 🌱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66