My introduction - Hi steemit! My name is Bonaventure and I'm a international model.

in #fashion7 years ago (edited)
- Hi, my name is Bonaventure.
* Oh, so your mother had a good adventure when she made you? 

Yes, my name means "good adventure" in french and yes .. I get a lot of sex jokes regarding my name. But what can I say, the name kinda grew on me and I wouldn't change it for the world. I always have something to start the conversation with.


Before I dive into me being a model (a subject I would love to do some articles about), maybee a small background story to give an idea where I come from:

My teenage years

I didn't have the most happy teenage years. My parents divorced when I was 10 years old and kept fighting over money the following 8 years. They absolutely hated eachother (well.. they still do). At my 18th I lost all contact with my father and I woudn't hear from him until my 23 years old. 

If this wasn't enough I got bullied during high school aswel. Not being able to talk about it with anyone I ended up in a really dark place and didn't see many reason to live anymore (I was 14 years old this period). Luckely I got saved when I changed school at my 16th. I choose to delete everything from my past and start fresh. And with deleting everything, I really mean deleting everything: I burned all pictures of this period and blocked every memory. 

The first picture I have of me in my life (I was 17 years old here):

 

".. Yea I know, I could have been a member of a one direction band or something haha :D"

One of my goals in life is to make an impact with people who are confronted with bullying, give them strength to fight through this and to stand up for themselves. I mean I was bullied for my appearance and now I'm a model ... fuck logic right?
Hopefully this article is one step closer to my goal.

Sometimes I ask myself how I got through this lonely period. And however I can't say exactly what gave my the strength to wake up everyday and live another day in hell, some little things gave me hope. Like my dog Jêrome, I mean it sounds stupid but he needed me and I needed him. There is always someone out there who cares about you, always.

" My little doggy friend " 


Now

I'm now 23 years old and I finally made peace with the whole bullying and divorce situation. I'm doing a postgraduate "digital storytelling" and these studies I combine with modelling. The modelling was something I rolled into when I was 18/19 years old. I started with very small fashion shows, shows where the average age of the audience was 65 years old and they were there because they have nothing else to do. Over the years I worked my way up and now I travel to other countries to shoot for big companies and big brands like Massimo dutti, Calvin Klein,.... But more on that in future posts.


"Shoot I did in Madrid for ElCorteIngles, the biggest online and offline store of Spain"


Next to modelling, I travel a lot (for the job and in my free time), I love sports with a board and I'm interested in digital storytelling and in cryptocurrencies... so that how I ended up here :D

Now I've been briefly introduced, I hope to meet some of the people here and read some interesting content of you guys!


Hear you very soon!





Sort:  

Hello, you are welcome to steemit!!! I give you upvote to your post

Thank you, I feel really welcome here! It's amazing!

Loading...

I saw in the past tv shows of Paul Fisher. How he selected potential models. The models are unique in a way normal people will not understand. People often have no idea what a model needs to look like. It's about the unique bone structure, facial expressions, the walk and posing talent. I believe many models were being bullied in the past. I was bullied too. But Im not a model😁

That's very true!
And nobody deserves to be bullied, it's time for us to shine! 💪

Very inspiring @Bonaventure. I am glad all turned out well in the end!

Hello, 'Good Adventure' :) Yours is such an inspiring story... my parents are divorced too and I can relate to what you shared, including depression and all that. It is nice to meet someone else that has been through a lot in his childhood, but still has the strength to smile and carry on. I wish you best of luck in your future plans!

thank you so much,
yes it sucks this kind of situation. Sadly I think it happens to much in divorce situations :/
But never stop smiling indeed!

Welcome good adventure! You will definitely have adventure on steemit :) It's great you were able to leave the unpleasant parts of your past behind and I believe this platform is great for you to share your thoughts, goals, fears and past without being judged (usually!). I used to be a fashion designer briefly (in men's wear) but that was 10 years ago. So I look forward to seeing a male model's perspective on the industry. Bienvenue :)

I do love the platform and feel really welcome
And wow you were a fashion designer briefly?! interesting!
merci :D

Yes, only briefly! Glad to hear :)

Welcome to the community bro. This helped a lot for me and I read a lot of posts that just kept referring me back here https://steemit.com/faq.html Its a lot to take in all at once but it slowly starts to sink in. In that link you'll find all the questions you're probably asking. Good luck on your journey I have upvoted and followed

Thank you for the link, will definitely be of help!

Having a name like that is unique and awesome. Mine is somewhat unique, but no good sex jokes unfortunately :( haha

and what is your name, if I may ask? 😬

Welcome! You look great! :) i wish you luck in your modeling career. Upvoted you

Welcome to Steemit. Hoping to see some of your fashion shoots

Thanks a lot!
I will most definitely do some posts about my shoots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61