Sachin & Babi Resort 19 Campaign Video featuring Helena Christensen...(shot with a DJI Mavic Pro)

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)


I was recently asked to shoot a fashion video for Sachin & Babi Resort 19 Collection featuring Helena Christensen (famous iconic super model). So I decided to shoot it with my DJI Mavic Pro <=Yes I did...

The Challenge:

Shoot a Behind-The-Scene (BTS) fashion video that does not look like, well, a BTS video. What that means is you generally have no control over the set; no control over the lighting; no control over the people on set; no control over all the elements that are usually required to "sell" the illusion of a fashion film or campaign video.

The Answer:

Hire me. Just Kidding (but really I'm not). Over the course of many years, I have mastered the art of "faking" it. Making something out of nothing. Creating an illusion out of an illusion.

Like most commercial photographers and cinematographers, I have the luxury of having some of the best technical and creative assistants at my disposal to assist in making beauty imagery. Sometimes, like on this job, I don't. But that never stopped me, so relying on gut instincts and my problem-solving skills I set out to make this video.

To make a long story short, while I could have chosen several options to shoot the video above. I decided to use my DJI Mavic Pro drone because it could pretty much do the job of an assistant holding a camera or moving a camera on rails. This was last minute so no time to hire a crew or rent equipment. More importantly, the budget didn't allow for all those "nice to have" things on set. Sometimes less is more. Having no crew, I chose the "easiest" form factor for me to shoot with. One with good camera stabilization and that provided enough resolution to meet the client's need. Between flying and hand holding, I had everything I needed for the task at hand.

The moral of the story is, you don't need to use the latest and greatest expensive equipment to get the results you need. A little creativity, problem-solving and elbow grease goes a long way in achieving the results you want. Unless you are specifically required and being paid to shoot in 6K with a bunch of HMI lights, always choose what works best for you to achieve the desired results. The best equipment is whatever you have on hand. The rest is just noise.

End Result: Happy Client.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72